Coffee Gelatin Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I knew this was going to be outside the box, but this was a disappointment. I like gelatin and I love coffee, but there's just not enough coffee flavor. It almost tasted like sweetened unflavored gelatin. I did use Splenda in place of the sugar, but the problem wasn't the sweetness, it was the lack of coffee flavor. This well could be remedied by using extra strong coffee or espresso, but I doubt I'll be making this one again. Sorry, Mardee, hate to give a bad review, but this just didn't work for us. In all fairness, it could just be a personal taste preference issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I always thought coffee jello was a New England dessert since my mother made it all of the time. It's funny to hear I could have some after my yakisoba. I made this recipe but cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup - 3/4 cup seemed to much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soupwhistle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I served the jello, cut up in squares with choc sauces drizzled across the plate, strawberries and a dab of whip cream on some pieces. Great light dessert..I did include the lemon and increased the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
It is what it is. Coffee flavored gelatin. Easy, fast, an adult taste. Will have to tinker with the creame drizzle to sweeten it a bit This recipe is yummy with flavored coffees too. I recommend pumpkin spice flavored coffee in the autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My husband and I really liked this. It was THE attention getter at the party we brought it too. It's a great conversation starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
with some alterations i made, this recipe reminded me of all the coffee parfaits in hawaii[there's a lot of japanese restaurants here ^-^] instead of 3/4 cups sugar i used 1/2 cup and didn't add the lemon juice. when it was set i cut the gelatin into cubes and drizzled some sweetened condensed milk over the top, then served with some softened vanilla ice cream. yum! also, you could drizzle with chocolate sauce instead of the condensed milk, but condensed milk is so popular in japan so it seems more becoming of the dessert :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
A very light and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Great recipe, I'd been looking for it... useful tip: Use vanilla icecream instead of whipped cream serve some coffee liquor, then the gelatin in cubes, and finally a ball of vanilla ice cream... Try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I ate a coffee gelatin dessert at a sushi bar and was looking for a recipe for it. Found it at your website. However, I deleted the lemon juice because when I first tried it, it was a bit sour. Also, as a variation, you could use half-and-half rather than whipped cream. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I used double brewed coffee & added 2 heaping tbp. of instant coffee. I also increased the sugar to 1 full cup. The coffee flavor was a bit strong...next time I will only add one tbp. of instant coffee. I poured this into an 8 by 12 pan & then cut it into small squares. I layered the squares of gelatin in a parfait glass w/ spoonfuls of whipped cream (one dollop is not going to be enough) & drizzled chocolate syrup & caramel syrup over the layers. Wsa refreshingly different...thanks Mardee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Oil Coffee

Coconut oil and butter launch freshly brewed coffee into the flavor stratosphere.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee

See how to make coffee concentrate for a hot or cold beverage.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States