Coffee Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I really don't know how to rate this recipe... it tastes very good. But, when I made it I used instant coffee granules instead of liquid coffee and 1 cup less powdered sugar. It ended up being a dough consistency frequently and becoming a giant mess so I was forced to mix it by hand. I also ended up adding more milk because it was NOT spreadable enough for cupcakes and it has sort of has a powdery texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I like the flavor of this frosting but I think it would go best on a cake that isn't overly sweet. Maybe a Devil's Food? I don't know, but it was definitely too sweet for the chocolate cake recipe I used it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Let me preface that I really LOVE all things sweet. But this frosting was just disgustingly sweet; I couldn't even swallow it. I've been cooking for about seven years, so I don't think it's me; 5 cups of sugar for 4 cups of frosting is just excessive. My advice? Use 2-3 cups sugar, and add less liquid ingredients. Taste, and then decide if you want more sweetness. Really though, I had to throw out the whole batch, and I used really good quality cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
not bad, added some strong coffee to thin it out a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cicero, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very, very, VERY sweet and not incredibly chocolatey. Also, if you're into presentation, the color is a little light because it's mostly sugar, so it doesn't look as stunning as a really chocolatey frosting would. It's definitely more a children's frosting than an adult one. I only made half the recipe, and I added a little extra milk because mine came out a little too thick, but otherwise followed it exactly. I would make it again, but I might tweak it to add more chocolatey-coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Very nice frosting; easy to prepare. Used leftover coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
yummy. i didn't have enough butter, so i added a bit more milk and it turned out great. perfect taste. used it on a flourless chocolate cake. i have a lot left oer, though, so i'm trying to figure out what to use the rest on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
a really good frosting recipe. I made it to go along with the Black Magic Cake (also on allrecipes), and I found it to be a little shy on the coffee side, so I added quite a bit which then prompted me to thicken it with more of the other ingredients. Overall, a very good frosting recipe that has the mixture of the bitterness of coffee (I used leftover espresso instead of granules) and the sweetness of chocolate. Very rich and satisfying. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States