Coffee Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Let me preface that I really LOVE all things sweet. But this frosting was just disgustingly sweet; I couldn't even swallow it. I've been cooking for about seven years, so I don't think it's me; 5 cups of sugar for 4 cups of frosting is just excessive. My advice? Use 2-3 cups sugar, and add less liquid ingredients. Taste, and then decide if you want more sweetness. Really though, I had to throw out the whole batch, and I used really good quality cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
a really good frosting recipe. I made it to go along with the Black Magic Cake (also on allrecipes), and I found it to be a little shy on the coffee side, so I added quite a bit which then prompted me to thicken it with more of the other ingredients. Overall, a very good frosting recipe that has the mixture of the bitterness of coffee (I used leftover espresso instead of granules) and the sweetness of chocolate. Very rich and satisfying. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I like the flavor of this frosting but I think it would go best on a cake that isn't overly sweet. Maybe a Devil's Food? I don't know, but it was definitely too sweet for the chocolate cake recipe I used it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This frosting is okay. I used it on top of brownies and it came out nice. The reason I'm giving it 3 stars is because, I had to atler the recipe. I had to add in more coffe and more milk. Over all the frosting was good but it wasn't AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannahjc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is overall a great recipe, however I probably added 4x that amount of coffee to get any coffee flavoring. Then my frosting was a little thin, so I added more sugar, but couldn't really get it to stiffen up that much. But it tasted great, and made enough for 24 cupcakes plus a 9x11" sheet cake. My coworkers absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Very, very, VERY sweet and not incredibly chocolatey. Also, if you're into presentation, the color is a little light because it's mostly sugar, so it doesn't look as stunning as a really chocolatey frosting would. It's definitely more a children's frosting than an adult one. I only made half the recipe, and I added a little extra milk because mine came out a little too thick, but otherwise followed it exactly. I would make it again, but I might tweak it to add more chocolatey-coffee flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisbon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Very nice frosting; easy to prepare. Used leftover coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Pretty good recipe! I used instant espresso powder in place of instant coffee and I added a little more milk. very yummy. Holds well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jastroud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Unlike one of the other reviews, when I made this frosting it turned out too thin and tasted mostly like powdered sugar. I don't know what happened, but I thinki it has great potential and I will try it again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States