Coffee Flavored Liqueur III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I am a bartender of 30 some years and this was great. It was also the easiest of any I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Donna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I combined this recipe with on eo fthe other coffee liqueur recipes on this site to make it a bit easier. I used instant espresso rather than ground coffee beans to eliminate the straining. This recipe is wonderful. I've made it for Xmas gifts for 2 years now, and my friends beg for it each year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Yummy, yummy! One alteration - I only had 1 1/2 cups of vodka, but I put the whole amount of coffe mixture in. Seems to give it a more concentrated coffee taste. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a good recipe. I personally brew the coffee first before adding the sugars, etc. It makes for less mess later on. I also use flavored coffees a lot such as chocolate flavored or whatever I want to try at the time. It is very important to make sure the coffee/sugar mixture is very cool before adding the alcohol (vodka) so that the alcohol does not evaporate. This drink is sure to tickle your fancy if you like coffee flavored liquors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This is a beautiful (and cheap!) thing. I only made a half-batch to test the recipe. I bought the cheapest vodka I could get, and it worked perfectly. Since it was a half-batch, I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 2 TBS brown sugar (instead of all white). I only had pre-ground coffee, so I added an extra 1/2 TBS, and it was caramel-flavored - yummy! I also only used 1 cup of vodka instead of 1 1/4 cups. Next time, I'll use 3/4 cup so the alcohol taste is lessened and I think I'll add the vanilla when I mix in the vodka to try to get more of the flavor, but this is great! Oh, and an easy way to strain it is to place a coffee filter in a large funnel and place that on top of a tall container so when you pour it in it will drip away at its own rate while you do something else. Thanks, Janet, for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is the easiest liquier receip I have ever found, and it tastes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This really packs a punch with both flavour and alcohol content. I made this for christmas presents and it went down very well. While I wouldn't change a thing I do think that if you use a cheap quality vodka then you should use less cos it just burns, but with a good quality vodka, you can use the recipe amount and end up with a very rich and smooth finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Easy and good! Better than store bought. Made one with cheap Vodka and one with a little better (Gordon's). Use the better Vodka makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty from Las Vegas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I gave this one 5 stars! It sure beats paying the high price at the liquor store. Instead of straining the coffee grounds, I emptied a family sized tea bag and inserted the coffee grounds and resealed with a stapler...worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I did change this up a bit but used the basic recipe and it is DELICIOUS stuff! My daughter declared it better than the "real" stuff. I tried it with the coffee grinds in the water but after spending 15 minutes and making a big mess trying to get all of the grounds out I threw that batch away and started with a really strong brewed chocolate flavored coffee. I used 3 cups of coffee and simmered the ingredients for 30 minutes until it reduced down to about half. Then I threw in a handful of ice to cool it down and added the Absolut vodka. Didn't wait for it to sit for a few days. The batch was gone in 2 days and I'm making another batch as we speak! One caution.... DON'T let this stuff boil over on your stove. You'll be cleaning the mess for hours as the sugar will immediately harden and create a cleaning nightmare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States