Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I really loved this recipe. The combination of dates and coffee is great. However, I did make a couple of changes. I added 1/2 cup more dates and I tented the bread with aluminum foil half way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This wonderful bread is dark and moist (almost cake-like) and is so easy to make. I am giving it out as Christmas presents and everyone who has received it asks for the recipe. Thanks so much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
What a terrific recipe! I have made it quite a few times since I saw it on All Recipes a few months ago. It is dark and moist which is what I have been looking for. Most date & nut breads I've tried are light in color and not nearly as moist as this one. I tried baking it in the little mini pans and it comes out perfect. It makes about 2 or 3 mini loaves (fill about 2/3 full so they don't drip over) and bake at he same degrees between 45 to 60 min. Great for Holiday gifts. I also added a few extra dates and chopped the nuts coarse by hand to give the bread a nice crunchy texture. Tenting with some foil half way through is a suggestion from another reviewer that is helpful since the bread will get dark fairly soon in the cooking process. A MUST TRY recipe for all you date nut bread lovers out there! THANK YOU Karen for submitting this WONDERFUL recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I baked this bread as muffins--12 of them, and they are delicious!!! Baked the muffins at 350 for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I used only 3 Tbs of sugar but it turned out just as sweet as I wanted it to be. I may use only 2 Tbs of sugar next time. For coffe, I brewed espresso and diluted it with hot water. I really love the taste. Thanks for the great recipe. This is the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Delicious. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used 1 cup of brown suger instead of white sugar. I also tossed in some currants. I made muffins instead of a loaf of bread. This made 17 muffins baked at 350 degrees for about 17 minutes. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This bread is really good, almost a gingerbread flavor I found. I was worried when it looked like I had mud in my mixing bowl but it turned out delicious. I didn't bother with the parchment paper and had no problems. Make sure to use really strong coffee, because it adds a lot of flavor. Unusual, delightful taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochefort-Sur-Mer, Poitou-Charentes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! My aunt has a thing for dates and she just about died when she tried this! I made a bunch of loaves for christmas and handed them out as gifts. I've also used vanilla nut coffe along with a few others for variety. (I make this bread ALL TIME!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Seemed almost too thin when I poured into the loaf pan but it turned out great. Great taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States