Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is my new all time favorite holiday bread recipe. So delicious and takes me back to fond childhood memories of wonderful date nut bread served at a lovely tea room my mom used to take to lunch sometimes. They served it with cream cheese spread which goes really well with this bread. Such a quick and easy recipe and really delicious! I highly recommend it. I think even if you aren't a big date fan, you'll love this bread. Freezes really well and great for gift giving. I make it in mini loaf pans. I split the batter in half before adding the nuts and put walnuts in one half and pecans in the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Best date nut bread I've ever made! Rich, moist, and delicious. I substituted walnuts for pecans because that's what I had on hand. No doubt I'll be making this regularly. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
ok but a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the dark date bread that I remember from my childhood. It is also very similar to a bread that my neice used to make. (but she guarded that recipe from everyone!) So glad I tried it. The coffee gives it that extra something and makes it the dark color I remember. Going to make this for our cookie/candy/bake sale at church next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe. To make it even better, make a brandy sauce and pour it over the cake/muffins when they come out of the oven. This is great for Thanksgiving, Christmas or a special occasion. Serve with clotted cream. Sauce: 1 1/4 cup soft brown sugar 1 tablespoon butter 3/4 cup water 1 cinnamon stick 1 teaspoon vanilla essence Pinch of salt 1/2 cup brandy Method: Heat the butter, sugar and water and stir until the sugar disolves. Increase heat and boil for 1 minute and add the cinnamon stick. Remove the mixture from the stove and stir in the brandy, vanilla and salt. Leave to infuse while the cake is baking. When the cake is baked, remove the cinnamon stick from the syrup and pour over the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful holiday bread recipe. Except for the dates, all the ingredients are those you usually have on hand. Easy to prepare, great for a last minute take-to gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tasty! I made a few changes to "healthify" it. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar (I wanted it to be bread rather than cake), 1/4 cup applesauce in place of butter, raisins instead of dates, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup white flour, and added in a drizzle of honey and lots of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and other "gingerbread" spices to taste. The result was delightfully gingerbready! Next time I will leave it in for less than an hour so it is a little less dry, and use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good. I made it vegan by using earth balance spread and 1/4 cup applesauce + 1/2 tsp extra baking soda in place of the butter and egg. I also used date sugar (ground dehydrated dates), whole wheat flour, and stovetop-brewed "cowboy" coffee with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I reduced the sugar to 1/3 c soft brown sugar because I read some reviews saying this was quite sweet and wanted something not too sweet. Its taste is great because the coffee comes through and it is not too sweet, but the texture was very tough on the day. It was great the next day though. I may have over-mixed, or maybe it was because I used margarine. I also did not find it as moist as everyone else. I may make it exactly as per the recipe and give it one more shot (got lots of dates at home at the moment and would like something healthy, not puddings)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
It was good. Made exactly as recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States