Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Really loved this recipe, I had to cook mine for an hour and 15 minutes though to cook all the way through. I also added brown sugar and cinnamon to top the bread. Definitely a great recipe and will make again the next time I get dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe but used brown sugar and 1.5 c of dates. It is very moist. I have to say, though, that I couldn't taste the dates and I was looking for a good date bread or cake. It tasted ok, just not at all what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joppatowne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Myersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I just needed to get rid of these dates...nobody likes them in my family (and I suppose these dates were not of the best quality). And I hoped that pastry with dates would be better than dates themselves. It's a most disappointing delusion. If you don't like some foodstuff just stand it as a treat for your guests or throw away after all. But don't use it in your recipes, you'll just waste all other ingredients. Anyway I baked this bread. Used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and other 3/4 cup of white sugar. Well, that's too much, the bread with all these dates and sugar is over sweet. I think 1/2 cup of sugar (no matter white or brown) will be enough. But anyway it's not bad, it's moist and tasty...quite good for the date bread. I won't bake it next time not because it's a bad recipe but just because I don't like dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This bread was excellent. The only change I made was by accident-- I poured the batter in the pan and put it in the oven, and realized two minutes later that I hadn't put any pecans in. Instead I ended up sprinkling some flaked almonds over the top and gently mixing them in, so as not to disturb the edges already touching the pan. People were fighting over slices of this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I liked this recipe.I also changed a little bit to suit my style. I added olive oil instead of butter, put brown sugar, and replaced all purpose flour with wheat flour. Even then it came out good, Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I added coconut, cut the sugar in half and added a teaspoon of cinnamon. It's a little drier than most of my breads turn out but pretty good! Next time I'll add some applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I too love this recipe!! But I have a different take. I searched recalling (barely) the ingredients I knew from old Pillsbury recipe book I'd lost long ago and MOMSRIGHT popped up. FANtastic! My Mom prefers walnuts and I recall my Pillsbury recipe used-4 cups-in ONE loaf pan. Can you imagine? Well, walnut and sick-to-death-of-jellied-fruit-fruit-cakes will tell you--its a master stoke of a replacement! carefully combine 4C of whole walnut halves (English, not black) into the recipe last and then fold into your pan. YUMMM Thanks, MOMSRIGHT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anythingonabudget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a very easy, fast recipe to make. I used walnuts and cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. Delicious with morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Tasty recipe easy to follow. Husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is my new all time favorite holiday bread recipe. So delicious and takes me back to fond childhood memories of wonderful date nut bread served at a lovely tea room my mom used to take to lunch sometimes. They served it with cream cheese spread which goes really well with this bread. Such a quick and easy recipe and really delicious! I highly recommend it. I think even if you aren't a big date fan, you'll love this bread. Freezes really well and great for gift giving. I make it in mini loaf pans. I split the batter in half before adding the nuts and put walnuts in one half and pecans in the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States