Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I baked mine in a small toaster oven for 50 minutes instead of an hour and it turned out fine. Smaller ovens concentrate the heat better I suppose. I left out the dates because I could not find any at the time. I would make this one again, but make the coffee flavor a lot stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This bread is really good, almost a gingerbread flavor I found. I was worried when it looked like I had mud in my mixing bowl but it turned out delicious. I didn't bother with the parchment paper and had no problems. Make sure to use really strong coffee, because it adds a lot of flavor. Unusual, delightful taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochefort-Sur-Mer, Poitou-Charentes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
mmm mmm mmm, this bread had a wonderfully rich flavor! i used starbuck's christmas blend coffee (what was on hand) & a rounded cup of chopped dates. feel free to substitute waxed paper for parchment paper. thank you karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I baked this bread as muffins--12 of them, and they are delicious!!! Baked the muffins at 350 for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I tried this recipe and love it. I cheated and baked it in the bread machine. OOooops! a large section stuck to the bottom but tasted so good. Its wonderfully moist and has a rich flavor. My 3yr old loves it toasted with butter...he thinks its chocolate. It must be good for a 3yr old to eat dates! I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Very very good. I used high quality medjool dates and pitted them myself. The loaf was absolutely delicious I thought.. it almost tasted like chocolate. However, you will find a few people who do not care for it. I will make it again for me, but I won't give it out as gifts like I had planned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahParadis

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This recipe is fantastic! I used walnuts instead of pecans and the result was delicious. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
The coffee gives this bread a great flavor (I used decaf coffee) and the texture is wonderful. I ate the leftovers with a little bit of whipped cream cheese. Had my family and friends over for dinner and everyone requested the recipe. A++++ recipe. Thank you Karen for sharing. I'll make this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
What a terrific recipe! I have made it quite a few times since I saw it on All Recipes a few months ago. It is dark and moist which is what I have been looking for. Most date & nut breads I've tried are light in color and not nearly as moist as this one. I tried baking it in the little mini pans and it comes out perfect. It makes about 2 or 3 mini loaves (fill about 2/3 full so they don't drip over) and bake at he same degrees between 45 to 60 min. Great for Holiday gifts. I also added a few extra dates and chopped the nuts coarse by hand to give the bread a nice crunchy texture. Tenting with some foil half way through is a suggestion from another reviewer that is helpful since the bread will get dark fairly soon in the cooking process. A MUST TRY recipe for all you date nut bread lovers out there! THANK YOU Karen for submitting this WONDERFUL recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Terrific. I did mistakenly use 4 TBSP. of butter in this recipe. I added the coffee/date mixture all at once and had to work a bit to eliminate lumps from the batter so next time would add it gradually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States