Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Made it for christmas morning brunch - it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINFUL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I approached this recipe expecting to only make a few modifications. Mainly, I didn't want to use coffee as the liquid as I wanted more pure date flavor to come through. I ended up modifying it more because I felt the batter seemed too "soupy" after I'd mixed it up. I ended up using a cup of boiling hot whole milk instead of coffee, using brown sugar instead of white, adding an extra tbsp. of butter, adding an extra half cup of flour, and about a 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. Making these modifications caused it to rise well and not turn out as dark as the pictured loaf. It was very good and not the least bit dense. Those who were unhappy with how dense the loaf was may want to add just a bit more fat and more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I was looking for a recipe made with coffee as I lost my original recipe so I thought I would try this one and it came out pretty good. The only thing that was wrong and it might have been my fault as the sides of the bread were too dark so I think I should have baked it less. I will definitely make this again because it was moist and had a nice flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jensen Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This has a nice flavor and can be made for the holidays as well as general occassions. I added 'fruitcake fruit mix' at Christmas. Turned out nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellcent. Moist and tastey. I'm sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and used 1 cup of brown suger instead of white sugar. I also tossed in some currants. I made muffins instead of a loaf of bread. This made 17 muffins baked at 350 degrees for about 17 minutes. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
quick easy&delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe! My aunt has a thing for dates and she just about died when she tried this! I made a bunch of loaves for christmas and handed them out as gifts. I've also used vanilla nut coffe along with a few others for variety. (I make this bread ALL TIME!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChunkyMonkeyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This recipe was a hit with date-lovers and hater alike! The chocolately taste is wonderful and rich. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I thought this was really good, a little different. I made a bunch for Xmas, many people liked it. Use good coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States