Coffee Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a very easy, fast recipe to make. I used walnuts and cut the sugar to 2/3 cup. Delicious with morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo-in-mexico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Tasty recipe easy to follow. Husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is my new all time favorite holiday bread recipe. So delicious and takes me back to fond childhood memories of wonderful date nut bread served at a lovely tea room my mom used to take to lunch sometimes. They served it with cream cheese spread which goes really well with this bread. Such a quick and easy recipe and really delicious! I highly recommend it. I think even if you aren't a big date fan, you'll love this bread. Freezes really well and great for gift giving. I make it in mini loaf pans. I split the batter in half before adding the nuts and put walnuts in one half and pecans in the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Best date nut bread I've ever made! Rich, moist, and delicious. I substituted walnuts for pecans because that's what I had on hand. No doubt I'll be making this regularly. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
ok but a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is the dark date bread that I remember from my childhood. It is also very similar to a bread that my neice used to make. (but she guarded that recipe from everyone!) So glad I tried it. The coffee gives it that extra something and makes it the dark color I remember. Going to make this for our cookie/candy/bake sale at church next month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooter2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Canton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This is a great recipe. To make it even better, make a brandy sauce and pour it over the cake/muffins when they come out of the oven. This is great for Thanksgiving, Christmas or a special occasion. Serve with clotted cream. Sauce: 1 1/4 cup soft brown sugar 1 tablespoon butter 3/4 cup water 1 cinnamon stick 1 teaspoon vanilla essence Pinch of salt 1/2 cup brandy Method: Heat the butter, sugar and water and stir until the sugar disolves. Increase heat and boil for 1 minute and add the cinnamon stick. Remove the mixture from the stove and stir in the brandy, vanilla and salt. Leave to infuse while the cake is baking. When the cake is baked, remove the cinnamon stick from the syrup and pour over the pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carmalex
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful holiday bread recipe. Except for the dates, all the ingredients are those you usually have on hand. Easy to prepare, great for a last minute take-to gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tasty! I made a few changes to "healthify" it. I used 1/3 cup brown sugar (I wanted it to be bread rather than cake), 1/4 cup applesauce in place of butter, raisins instead of dates, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup white flour, and added in a drizzle of honey and lots of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and other "gingerbread" spices to taste. The result was delightfully gingerbready! Next time I will leave it in for less than an hour so it is a little less dry, and use less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good. I made it vegan by using earth balance spread and 1/4 cup applesauce + 1/2 tsp extra baking soda in place of the butter and egg. I also used date sugar (ground dehydrated dates), whole wheat flour, and stovetop-brewed "cowboy" coffee with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States