Coffee Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
For how few ingredients, they are pretty good cookies. However, I didn't have walnuts or chocolate chips, but they still held together just fine. If you want your instant coffee from making too big of crunchies, just pour the amount into a bowl & roll a spoon around on it until the coffee becomes more powdery. I also increased the flour & they turned out perfect. Super easy quick recipe if you don't have very much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I'm so disappointed because the reviews on this sounded so good and I wanted to like this but as one reviewer was the only one to be honest, these came out looking like a burnt fried egg! I followed everything just as instructed but they just spread out everywhere and were this flat mess. I will say the flavor was very good but this needs something, baking powder?? Disappointed for sure :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I baked these cookies today and could'nt stop sampling them they are great !!! I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder to the flour . and I frosted them with a light vanilla icing and grated semi sweet chocolate on top. very good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by m snell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made these cookies and they were good but not REALLY good:) also they were very small and not very many so i doubled the recipe. To perfect them i added (to taste) more coffee, more vanilla, salt, more suger, cinnomen, and pumkin spice. at the end while they were cooling i added a thin layer of chocolate sauce on them. They turned out FANTASTIC:) perfect for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
They turned out great, I put the dough in fridge after making the first batch and noticed that after putting it in the fridge, they did not flatten as much. I really liked the subtle coffee taste and walnuts. When i make it again, i will cut down on the sugar by a couple of tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I thought it tasted pretty good they looked like aweful cookies before I cooked them but they taste really sweet. be sure to use instant coffee. (i used irish cream coffe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by young-cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I made these today and was a bit worried they wouldn't come out well, judging by some other reviews, but to my delight they turned out absolutely delicious! I read the comments and changed the ingredients accordingly, using 1 tsp vanilla extract instead of 1/2, 1 cup flour instead of 3/4, 1/2 cup margarine instead of shortening, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips instead of nuts, as well as baking for 8 minutes. There didn't appear to be much batter in the bowl so I wondered how many it would actually make, and it was very, very moist (probably because I melted my butter). I rolled them into balls with my hands as I like to do, though I made them small and widely spaced apart in case they flattened. They actually didn't flatten at all! And because I used small bits of batter to begin with I found out they puff up quite a lot, so you could get more cookies if you used less batter. All up it made about 20 cookies, so still not a whole lot but a decent amount. The coffee grounds give a sort of crunch to them, as if I had put nuts in them, and it's enjoyable. Next time I make them I'm considering dissolving the grounds in water first to see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I always read the reviews before tackling a recipe I made these and they were GREAT! Although I prefer butter, I used margarine v. shortening for added flavor. I also used a single serving packet of Starbucks instant coffee - which I just happened to have and I think because STarbucks is normally strong coffee, one packet worked (compared to 1T v. 2T.) I didn't have nuts which I think would have held the cookie together and kept it from spreading. I always double the vanilla. I also added 1/4 C flour like the other reviewer suggested. The cookie tastes great! The batch made 30 cookies. I only spooned the 1t as the recipe suggested. They spread a lot! They are thin and waferlike, but like I said, I think the nuts would have held it together better. 8 minutes baking time was perfect as well. I topped them off with Halloween colored sprinkles for interest. I would definitely make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trystanlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
It has no flavor, no nothing and is not as many servings as the recipe says it has. It's a great start to a better cookie! It's chewy, but that's it...my suggestion is to expirement with it until you love the taste of the batter (even though its not healthy :) ) and then bake it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Good cookies. I think one things people might be doing wrong is using oil? for shortening - I used butter and HELLO they were fine. I did bump the flour up to 1 cup - everything else was great. I have found that ANY COOKIE baked until the edges are golden are ALWAYS too done and end up hard. I figure when the start to firm up when you touch the tops - just like cakes - they are done. A trick a friend of mine shared with me (from her Grandmother) is when cookies get hard, put them in a plastic bag with a piece of white bread. I don't know the science behind it or how they figured it out but IT WORKS! Soft cookies again. I added 1/3 c. cocoa and yummy. I got 33 cookies. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States