Coffee Cake Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
Now I know why I choose allrecipe.com recipes that are rated with 5 stars. This coffee cake is over the top! I was in a pinch and needed to make a breakfast treat with ingredients that I had in the frig and pantry. This coffee cake is moist, tasty, sweet, crispy on the top side and rises to a beautiful height. It tops my mother-in-law's coffee cake by a mile but we will keep that to ourselves. Just yesterday I made a third one (in 2 months) and added a tbsp more of sour cream. Wow is this a moist cake. I cooked it only 50 minutes and its even more moist than the last 2! My husband is swimming one mile four times a week just to enjoy a slice (or two) each day. My four year old daughter finally loves walnuts thanks to this recipe. Now we are going to try it again but add chocolate chips! Make this recipe and you'll keep those who love you loving you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Excellent! My family loved it, and it was gone almost instantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymond, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
The cake came out great. I'd say more than 12 servings though. The a brown sugar crumble type topping might be better, the white sugar didn't really melt in and just sort of fell off when it came out. I'd double the nut/cinnamon/sugar mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
This was not a good cake. I followed the directions exactly and the cake was dry, the topping was dry and the cake was like eating sawdust. I do not reccommmend this one at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I substituted yogurt and vinegar for the sour cream and the cake came out great. I liked the addition of the walnuts, althought if I was to make this recipe again I'd add the walnuts to a more traditional struesel topping because the top was a bit dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Excellent - very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Very tasty coffee cake, but I made a few changes to the topping in the recipe. I used 1/2 C. of packed brown sugar instead of white sugar, and added 2 Tbsp. melted butter. I found this went better with the cake than a white sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2000
This cake isn't really a coffee cake but it was well worth the time spent making and preparing it! It's a sweet and tasty cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States