Coffee Cake Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I think the bake time is too long. The cake seemed too dry on the bottom. The top with streusel was still moist and that part was good. If I make it again, I will cut down the bake time. But, honestly, I doubt I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
What a simple and Sooo Delicious coffee cake! Very moist I did use buttermilk instead of sourcream and used walnuts just what I had on hand! Yummyyyy! Oh and for the nut mixture I used all brown sugar just my own personal preference! I will use this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a very delicious cake! My family loves it when they wake up and find this in the kitchen. I had never experienced moist coffee cake until I stumbled upon this recipe. The only bad thing about this cake is I can't keep it in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I couldn't keep the compliments from coming! Everyone raved about it! I used a half c. white sugar and a half c. brown sugar. I also doubled the struesal and layered three times in addition to more nuts- once on the bottom of the bunt, once in the middle, and lastly on the top of the bunt. I also used a whole tub of sour cream, maybe 1.5 cups. Very moist, very flavorful, perfect. I was told it tasted like something from our local famous german bakery! For my struesal- melt about a half stick of butter, maybe a cup of brown sugar, two tbs flour, and chopped nuts. Mix well, should be fairly dry, but clumps well to the touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I made this recipe for the first time today and was very very disappointed. The batter looked like frosting and I had a hard time pouring it into the pan. Once cooked and cooled, the cake fell into pieces when I sliced it. I didn't like the taste of it either. Definitely not a keeper, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Good, but not as moist as we had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Kelli F.
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This cake was just O.K. for me. I used brown sugar instead of white for the filling as suggested by other reviewers and it was not sweet enough for me. I also found that it was over-baked after 50 minutes - the outside crust was quite hard. I may try this again though, with a few changes - I will bake it for 40-45 minutes at 300 degrees and add a glaze over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I love this recipe. I make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Okay, so i've been given the asignment of making the coffee cake for Christmas morning with my boyfriend's family. I saw this recipe and decided to do a trial run. I baked it in a in a 9x13" pan since I didn't have the bundt pan and didn't layer it. I made the batter as directed but made a slight change to the topping. I added a little more walnuts than called for and about 3T of flour. I then added very thin slices of butter sprinkled over the topping. I took half of the cake with us to his parents house this weekend and my boyfriend and his dad each had 3 slices! Neither of them have major sweet tooths so I took that as a good sign. The only other change i'll make next time is to add more cinnamon. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I tried someones suggestion about putting this in a loaf pan, well I actually put it in 2 loaf pans. I t took a very long time to cook and it just didnt taste very good. I will try it again but with the right pan, the topping was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States