Coffee Cake. Literally. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The flavor of the cake batter was rich and packed a punch - exactly what coffee cake should be. The frosting was a tad sweet, will cut down if I make it again next time. The cake didn't really rise so came out a little dense, not sure if that's meant to be that way? Overall, still a good traditional coffee cake recipe. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Flavor was wonderful, the cakes stuck terribly even after greasing pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe at first but I just rolled my sleeves and made it today. I followed the recipe strictly and halved it because I wanted to make just one 8" round. It smelled like a welcoming coffee café. The color was perfect mocha, tasted divine. The texture was fluffy, moist and soft. It's not really spongy and that's how I wanted it to be. Reminded me of my visits to grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My daughter is a huge coffee lover so asked for a coffee flavored birthday cake. So glad I found this recipe for her. I used dark chocolate frosting instead (per her request) and she loved it! This recipe made her day and made me super mum of the year. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Other than increasing the salt to half teaspoon, I followed the recipe - Unusual for me. :D Very good! It was kinda low though using 9" pans. 'Done in 25. This cake came out of the pan better than any cake I can remember. It was beautiful. The frosting does to need to have the sweetness cut some. Maybe subbing buttermilk for the heavy cream? Adding sour or cream cheese as others did? Oh, it's good. Just remember to have cake with it instead of the frosting knife alone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for my husband who loves coming home to the smell of baked goods. I had to modify it to match the ingredients I had on hand, but it turned out amazing. I used fresh coffee in place of the instant coffee with boiling water and almond milk instead of the buttermilk. I also skipped on the icing and made a glaze with powdered sugar and almond milk instead to drizzle on top of the slices. I cooked it in a 9x13 pan for about 35 min., cut it into squares, drizzled them with the glaze, and served. It was a nice touch for dessert, breakfast the next morning, and as a drop-in gift for the neighbors. I am going to make it again this weekend, but instead I am going to mix coffee with the powdered sugar instead of almond milk for the glaze. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yumm!!! I did mine with vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk and a couple tsps of instant coffee mixed with cool whip for the icing because it's what I had lol. It turned out great though! And my husband liked that it wasn't as sweet with the cool whip. I did have to cook it almost twice as long as the recipe says but omg irrelevant because this is deeeeelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The cake tasted veryy delicious!!! I did google ree drummonds after reading another review here and found step by step instructions with pictures. This was my first time making a cake and I was very delighted with the result. A couple of things: I thought the icing was a little too sweet even though I didn't use all of the icing I made. I did end up cutting the amount of sugar in the cake by a 1/4 cup. (I thought this was just right) After reading one of the reviews, I decided to put the butter/coffee mixture in an ice bath for it to cool until the butter began to solidify again (i'm not sure what the purpose of this was). The baking time, however, was almost twice as long. I checked it periodically and took it out of the oven when the toothpick came clean. Nonetheless, people were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Perhaps the key to this cake is to let the coffee and butter mixture cool until it starts to solidify again. I did not do this, and my completed batter was liquid, so in my alarm I added half a cup of flour. I was surprised when the cake actually baked through in 50 minutes (n a bundt pan). It was a tasty cake, but it was quite heavy with a stodgy middle. Maybe this was because I'd added the extra flour. My only other variation was substituting yoghurt for buttermilk. Pity. I really wanted this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
It was alright, the cake took a lot longer than stated in the recipe to bake. I cut down on the sugar but still found it overwhelmingly sweet. I've found nicer coffee cake recipes that have used less butter, so I won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States