Coffee Cake. Literally. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very unique cake. Frosting is outstanding. Instructions seem a bit innacurate. I had to bake them twice as long as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Fabulous! I substituted yogurt for the buttermilk and it still turned out moist and… well… amazing. Thank you! UPDATE: I am surprised that some people have been having difficulty with this recipe. The baking time for me was perfect. It is worth noting that the recipe is Ree Drummonds (The Pioneer Woman) and step-by-step instructions can be found on her website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I'm giving this one 1 star only because the ingredients seem to be way off. There's far too much liquid and not enough binding agents to get this cake to actually turn out. I baked this cake for 90 minutes in a large springform pan and it still wasn't fully cooked. The outer edge was baked enough that we could try it and it does taste good. It just really needs an ingredient adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ern
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
My little secret is to add some cream cheese and lime or lemon juice to the icing. MMM! A little less sweet, and a lot more creamy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made the cake as is, and it was not good at all. I ended up taking this idea, and using my fav chocolate cake recipe (subbing flour for the cocoa) with 1c of strong coffee and it was far better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
It was alright, the cake took a lot longer than stated in the recipe to bake. I cut down on the sugar but still found it overwhelmingly sweet. I've found nicer coffee cake recipes that have used less butter, so I won't make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Perhaps the key to this cake is to let the coffee and butter mixture cool until it starts to solidify again. I did not do this, and my completed batter was liquid, so in my alarm I added half a cup of flour. I was surprised when the cake actually baked through in 50 minutes (n a bundt pan). It was a tasty cake, but it was quite heavy with a stodgy middle. Maybe this was because I'd added the extra flour. My only other variation was substituting yoghurt for buttermilk. Pity. I really wanted this recipe to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The cake tasted veryy delicious!!! I did google ree drummonds after reading another review here and found step by step instructions with pictures. This was my first time making a cake and I was very delighted with the result. A couple of things: I thought the icing was a little too sweet even though I didn't use all of the icing I made. I did end up cutting the amount of sugar in the cake by a 1/4 cup. (I thought this was just right) After reading one of the reviews, I decided to put the butter/coffee mixture in an ice bath for it to cool until the butter began to solidify again (i'm not sure what the purpose of this was). The baking time, however, was almost twice as long. I checked it periodically and took it out of the oven when the toothpick came clean. Nonetheless, people were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yumm!!! I did mine with vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk and a couple tsps of instant coffee mixed with cool whip for the icing because it's what I had lol. It turned out great though! And my husband liked that it wasn't as sweet with the cool whip. I did have to cook it almost twice as long as the recipe says but omg irrelevant because this is deeeeelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for my husband who loves coming home to the smell of baked goods. I had to modify it to match the ingredients I had on hand, but it turned out amazing. I used fresh coffee in place of the instant coffee with boiling water and almond milk instead of the buttermilk. I also skipped on the icing and made a glaze with powdered sugar and almond milk instead to drizzle on top of the slices. I cooked it in a 9x13 pan for about 35 min., cut it into squares, drizzled them with the glaze, and served. It was a nice touch for dessert, breakfast the next morning, and as a drop-in gift for the neighbors. I am going to make it again this weekend, but instead I am going to mix coffee with the powdered sugar instead of almond milk for the glaze. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States