Coffee Cake. Literally. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is perfect. Just follow all the ingredients and the steps. But next time I would add more coffee so it will taste more. 1. I substituted the buttermilk into 1/2 cup of milk and 1 tbs of lemon juice and let it sit for 2-3 minutes. 2. I need 45 minutes until the cake was ready in the oven. 3. I made sour cream frosting with this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sour-Cream-Chocolate-Frosting/Detail.aspx . I used 6 tbs of sugar and it was too sweet. I think you should reduce the amount of sugar if you want to use the original recipe of the frosting for this coffee-cake. It is way too-sweet. I would definitely make this cake with this recipe again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for my birthday cake and we really enjoyed it! The only change I made was subbing yogurt for buttermilk, and I only made a half recipe/one layer. I baked in my convection oven at 325 and it took exactly 20 minutes. It was a bit more caffeinated than I expected, my son kinda looped out on me :) but very tasty, thanks ern for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Wendy Maempel
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
SERIOUSLY the most moist, flavorful cake I have ever made! The coffee flavor isn't over-powering... it's almost a caramel-type flavor. The frosting is EXCELLENT and I topped it with mini milk choc chips and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Maempel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The flavor of the cake batter was rich and packed a punch - exactly what coffee cake should be. The frosting was a tad sweet, will cut down if I make it again next time. The cake didn't really rise so came out a little dense, not sure if that's meant to be that way? Overall, still a good traditional coffee cake recipe. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Flavor was wonderful, the cakes stuck terribly even after greasing pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe at first but I just rolled my sleeves and made it today. I followed the recipe strictly and halved it because I wanted to make just one 8" round. It smelled like a welcoming coffee café. The color was perfect mocha, tasted divine. The texture was fluffy, moist and soft. It's not really spongy and that's how I wanted it to be. Reminded me of my visits to grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My daughter is a huge coffee lover so asked for a coffee flavored birthday cake. So glad I found this recipe for her. I used dark chocolate frosting instead (per her request) and she loved it! This recipe made her day and made me super mum of the year. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Other than increasing the salt to half teaspoon, I followed the recipe - Unusual for me. :D Very good! It was kinda low though using 9" pans. 'Done in 25. This cake came out of the pan better than any cake I can remember. It was beautiful. The frosting does to need to have the sweetness cut some. Maybe subbing buttermilk for the heavy cream? Adding sour or cream cheese as others did? Oh, it's good. Just remember to have cake with it instead of the frosting knife alone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I made this for my husband who loves coming home to the smell of baked goods. I had to modify it to match the ingredients I had on hand, but it turned out amazing. I used fresh coffee in place of the instant coffee with boiling water and almond milk instead of the buttermilk. I also skipped on the icing and made a glaze with powdered sugar and almond milk instead to drizzle on top of the slices. I cooked it in a 9x13 pan for about 35 min., cut it into squares, drizzled them with the glaze, and served. It was a nice touch for dessert, breakfast the next morning, and as a drop-in gift for the neighbors. I am going to make it again this weekend, but instead I am going to mix coffee with the powdered sugar instead of almond milk for the glaze. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yumm!!! I did mine with vanilla yogurt in place of buttermilk and a couple tsps of instant coffee mixed with cool whip for the icing because it's what I had lol. It turned out great though! And my husband liked that it wasn't as sweet with the cool whip. I did have to cook it almost twice as long as the recipe says but omg irrelevant because this is deeeeelish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States