Coffee Cake. Literally. Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dorothy Nelson
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Oh my word... if only I could rate it a 10. This cake was fantastic! It was all gone within 24 hours. Super moist and it was like having a sweetened cup of coffee. The only adjustments that I had to make was to increase the cook time about 10 minutes (used a 9x13 glass dish), and added a bit more coffee to the frosting. Our family likes strong coffee. Everyone of us (there are 3) really enjoyed this cake. Fantastic recipe and a keeper for sure. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cass_c
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very tasty cake! I cut down 1/2 to 1/3 of the sugar and the cake is still a bit too sweet - especially the frosting. I used half the amount of everything for the frosting suggested in the receipt and it's already enough to cover the whole cake. Like everyone else, I had to bake it for much longer than suggested (50 mins maybe) or else the centre of the cake would still be liquid. Perhaps that's why the receipe suggested us to cook it in two cake tin. I just used one and therefore the cake is much thicker. Anyway, the cake is really yummy and everyone loves it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This recipe is perfect. Just follow all the ingredients and the steps. But next time I would add more coffee so it will taste more. 1. I substituted the buttermilk into 1/2 cup of milk and 1 tbs of lemon juice and let it sit for 2-3 minutes. 2. I need 45 minutes until the cake was ready in the oven. 3. I made sour cream frosting with this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sour-Cream-Chocolate-Frosting/Detail.aspx . I used 6 tbs of sugar and it was too sweet. I think you should reduce the amount of sugar if you want to use the original recipe of the frosting for this coffee-cake. It is way too-sweet. I would definitely make this cake with this recipe again in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this for my birthday cake and we really enjoyed it! The only change I made was subbing yogurt for buttermilk, and I only made a half recipe/one layer. I baked in my convection oven at 325 and it took exactly 20 minutes. It was a bit more caffeinated than I expected, my son kinda looped out on me :) but very tasty, thanks ern for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Wendy Maempel
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
SERIOUSLY the most moist, flavorful cake I have ever made! The coffee flavor isn't over-powering... it's almost a caramel-type flavor. The frosting is EXCELLENT and I topped it with mini milk choc chips and chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Maempel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
The flavor of the cake batter was rich and packed a punch - exactly what coffee cake should be. The frosting was a tad sweet, will cut down if I make it again next time. The cake didn't really rise so came out a little dense, not sure if that's meant to be that way? Overall, still a good traditional coffee cake recipe. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Flavor was wonderful, the cakes stuck terribly even after greasing pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I had my doubts about this recipe at first but I just rolled my sleeves and made it today. I followed the recipe strictly and halved it because I wanted to make just one 8" round. It smelled like a welcoming coffee café. The color was perfect mocha, tasted divine. The texture was fluffy, moist and soft. It's not really spongy and that's how I wanted it to be. Reminded me of my visits to grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My daughter is a huge coffee lover so asked for a coffee flavored birthday cake. So glad I found this recipe for her. I used dark chocolate frosting instead (per her request) and she loved it! This recipe made her day and made me super mum of the year. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Other than increasing the salt to half teaspoon, I followed the recipe - Unusual for me. :D Very good! It was kinda low though using 9" pans. 'Done in 25. This cake came out of the pan better than any cake I can remember. It was beautiful. The frosting does to need to have the sweetness cut some. Maybe subbing buttermilk for the heavy cream? Adding sour or cream cheese as others did? Oh, it's good. Just remember to have cake with it instead of the frosting knife alone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States