Coffee Butter Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This frosting was awful! It was way too sugary and lacked flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Not bad. It had a good flavor, but was very chocolatey, I couldn't taste the coffee at all. I'm going to play around with it to see if I can get a stronger coffee flavor, maybe leave out the chocolate completely?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
The icing was a little to sweet and didn't taste much like the strong coffee that I added. To make it less sweet I added another tablespoon of coffee and an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Wonderful base for an icing. When I first tried it it was way too thick and way to sweet but I added about a third of a cup of half and half and it helped a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I added a Tbsp of Kahlua and a bit more unsweetened cocoa powder to top Kahlua brownie bites. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Perfect recipe!! No changes necessary!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vengance2012
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Substuted Kahula for the Tablespoons of coffee, came out nice, tasted good, I frosted the Black Magic Cake from this website with it, I doubled the recipe and had just enough frosting to frost one 13x9 inch cake. Very sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
We absolutely loved this frosting. I doubled the recipe to frost a 9x13 inch cake (Black Magic cake from this site, TO. DIE. FOR.). I started off by beating the amount of butter, cocoa and coffee called for. Then I started beating in the powdered sugar and more coffee until I got the consistency / taste I wanted. So delicious and DANGEROUS. I will make this again, but only for special occasions because the temptation to over indulge is just too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great taste. Lovely texture, spreads beautifully. Just not enough icing for a double layer cake. Need to double the recipe. Used this recipe to go with the chocolate mocha cake from this site. Made coffee stronger than what was written in both recipes and I'd say that the combination is just right! Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Light, fluffy, and silky smooth is just what I expect from a buttercream frosting, and this recipe delivered! I decreased the powdered sugar to 1 cup and added 1.5 T cocoa and 2 T strongly brewed coffee. I fully expected the need to add more coffee since I prefer a prominent coffee taste, but after a quick taste test, I was pleasantly surprised to find the flavor spot on! Since DH isn't fond of ANY frosting, I used the recipe amount for his entire 13x9" chocolate birthday cake, so there was only a thin layer, however, doubling the amount would be the way to go for a sheet cake. Kahlua would also make a fine substitute for the coffee. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Frosting

See a 5-star recipe for sweet, creamy peanut butter frosting.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States