Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
After reading several of the reviews for this recipe, we decided to forgo the egg white and replace it with 2T of mayo. mixed w/ 1t. lemon juice. We brused each piece of fish w/ the mixture, followed by the crumb topping. It was delicious! This was an inexpensive, quick and easy meal to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
381 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
THe best cod I've ever eaten. The only reason why I'm giving it a four star is because I took the suggestion of lemon and mayo instead of egg whites and I think it made a big difference in taste. I sauteed 3 cloves of garlic in oil then added it to a little mayo and lemon juice until it was thin. I then brushed that on the fish instead of the egg whites. It was awesome and super flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I made a couple changes. I rubbed the fish with fat free mayo rather than the egg white. I also didn't add the oil to the crumb mixture. Instead, I patted the crumbs onto the fish and then sprayed it with my oil spritzer. I baked as directed. It was so good. I've shared the recipe with a few people who also really enjoyed it. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I have to agree with what other reviewer's have already said here. Lose the egg white and replace it with a mayo-lemon juice combo ~ I use 2 Tbsp. mayo and 2 tsp. lemon juice(just ehough to leave a hint of lemon with every bite.) Soak the fish fillets in buttermilk for about an hour before preparing to eliminate any "fishy" taste, add a bit more seasoning and this is a delicious, healthy meal, one which the hubs and I have been enjoying for weeks now. Thanks for the post, dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Very delicious. My only suggestion is to season the fish itself before adding the breading on top. I used some lemon juice, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
Good recipe ~ nothing too fancy - simple and easy to make. I made it with and without the egg white and my family did not notice a difference. This is a meal I'll make again. I did need to tent the fish at the end of the cooking time to prevent excessive browning of the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
The best fish I have ever tasted! I took the advise of others and used Italian bread crumbs and used mayo instead of egg white, and it came out perfect! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Couldn't see brushing the filets with egg white, but neither could I see swabbing them with mayonnaise as it seems most reviewers chose to do. I brushed the filets with melted butter and moistened the crumb mixture with it as well. The idea of the Italian seasoning with the delicate fish didn't appeal to me, so I chose to substitute fresh minced garlic, fresh chopped dill and parsley. I baked the fish in a shallow pan that I had drizzled with a little melted buttter. My filets were a little thicker, so I found that 20 minutes at 400 degrees was perfect. I love fish prepared this way and do so often. The addition of the corn meal was new for me, however, and I can't say that I even noticed it, so I would call it unnecessary. Served this with "Broccoli n Tomato Pasta," also from this site, and a tossed green salad. My idea of a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Please notice that the description clearly states this is a "low-fat" recipe. Therefore, substituting mayo for the egg white truly changes an important factor here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I like a lot of flavor, so I used crushed, seasoned croutons instead of bread crumbs. It really adds dimension and does not compromise texture. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States