Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Delish and easy to make! Adding to our (bi)weekly rotation. It honestly only took 30 minutes to prepare this meal along with 2 side dishes (quinoa and sauteed spinach+mushroom). Only made 4 minor changes: no cornmeal (because I forgot); halved the measurements for 2 fillets of tilapia; coated both sides of the fish with the breading mixture; baked it on a greased, lined pan instead of a broiling pan (easier cleanup). And that was it! The fish was still crispy (top and bottom) even with the modifications. I'm sure it could have been crispier had I used a broiling pan and cornmeal, but we were happy eaters anyway. Bon appetit and try this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe that is simple to make. I did use the mayo/lemon juice combo instead of the egg white as suggested by others and Italian Panko bread crumbs. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as it was written. I will be making it again! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Quick and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Just like shake and bake but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Made as written except for using mayo instead of egg white. Was ok, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe. I used Italian style bread crumbs and, since the fresh seafood counter was out of cod, I got flounder. I beat an egg (with yoke), dipped the fillets, and then coated them with the crumb mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Topping very dry. Just wasnt all that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I followed the advice of other reviewers and dipped the cod in light mayo and lemon juice to make the topping stick. Because of this, I omitted the olive oil in the topping. I baked this on a cookie sheet for 20 minutes at 400. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. I was surprised that I didn't care for this dish. Maybe it needed salt, or it could be that I just don't like cod. I can't really put my finger on it, but I normally love fish and when I made this I only took a few bites. My husband liked it (which surprised me), but I honestly don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very nice. I used the whole egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
my husband, myself and our 16 month old toddler Loved this fish. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States