Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This cod recipe was quite good. My boyfriend and I both liked it quite a lot for simple, easy, reasonably healthy dinner. I plan to make it again. I think it needs just a little something more to give it some oomph; adding just a tiny squirt of lemon at the table seemed to do the trick. A very serviceable dinner that the whole family can easily enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizRicksLiebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I followed the advice of others regarding the substitution of mayo for the egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Many of the reviews suggested mayo and lemon juice as a substitute for the egg white, so I went with that :) sorry, it just sounded better in my opinion. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used 2 tablespoons mayo, 2 teaspoons lemon juice, and then I added personally a tablespoon of mustard. I put the breading all around the fillets as well. I added to the bead crumb/and cornmeal garlic salt, lemon pepper, and Italian seasoning (like you said). Everything turned out great, husband REALLY liked it :) Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommie0610

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Substituted the egg for mayo and lemon like many others and it was delicious! Nice crumbly top! Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
if you use the lemon juice and mayo as others suggested this is fabulous! will be making it again and again. I also just used Italian breadcrumbs and a spray of olive oil pam over the top instead of mixing oil into the crumb mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenco4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this dish for the family this evening. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it. I wanted to keep it as fat free as possible so I didn't use the mayo coating. However, I did change up a few things. I used an egg substitue and added minced fresh garlic and a little salt & pepper. Coated the fish filets with the egg mixture then coated with panko breadcrumbs/parmesan/spice mixture. I added, oregano, thyme, lemon/orange pepper and onion & garlic powder to the panko mixture. Coated the entire filet and cooked them at 400 on a wire rack/broiler pan for about 30 min. It came out perfect and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I'm not sure if it is because we used frozen cod...but this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. DeCanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Excellent - Like other reviews I used italian bread crumbs and insted of an egg I brushed mayo mixed with lemon juice on the fish. I also soaked the fish in buttermilk for an hour then disgarded the buttermilk before brushing with mayo/lemon juice and coating with crumbs. Turned out amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
So i used mayo and lemon juice instead of egg and it was good but it wasn't great,there just was not enough flavor for me.I will try again but instead of plain crumbs i will use italian,and more garlic.Over all its not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my!!! This was wonderful! I used Panko breadcrumbs and the mayo/lemon juice idea from the suggestions...this will be a new weekly dish at our house...yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States