Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I used mayo also and after adding brd. crmbs. I spray lightly with cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Pritchett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rustburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I definitely benefitted from the previous reviewers' comments. Since I was cooking for two, I made following changes. First, I did not need to waste most of an egg, so I opted to go the mayo route. I also opted to avoid commercial mayo and made my own, using a pastured chicken egg, light olive oil and lemon juice from a lemon off my backyard tree. I rolled my cod pieces in the mayo, then rolled them in the topping, however I subbed in crushed rice crackers since this is a wheat free household. I served them with a drizzle of aoli built from my mayo plus some garlic and extra lemon juice. Was fantabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was great! I did follow the advice of others and used mayo and lemon juice in place of the egg white. A great tasting dish and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CharB26350
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is yummy!!! Instead of egg white, I brushed with fat free ranch and drizzled the olive oil instead of adding to the dry mix. Perfectly cooked and delicious. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharB26350

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
My biggest advice on this recipe is to use 3oz fillets. Mine were much larger and the topping just wasn't enough for the larger fillets. I did take the advice of others and used 2 Tbsp mayo mixed with 1 tsp lemon juice in place of the egg. I liked the flavor of the topping well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
liked the flavor of the fish, but thought the crumb mixture was a bit much, i would cut it in half next time and use the other's suggestions of swapping some of the coating and egg whites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very nice. Used mayo instead of the egg white and cooked it on parchment paper. The cod was flaky and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
A very quick, easy way to prepare cod. I gave it 4 stars as I altered the recipe with suggestions of previous reviewers. I, too, used mayo (with added lemon juice) to coat the fish before putting adding the crumb topping. Also, I had no regular bread crumbs on hand, but used pancko crumbs instead and added used 3 tablespoons of corn meal compensate for the larger crumbs. This recipe would work nicely with other mild fishes and I may even try it on thinly pounded chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was delicious and keeping it low fat is the key! I did add a bit more italian seasoning. Came out great! Green beans and cous cous make a super easy week day meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This is really good and really easy. I followed other reviewer's suggestions to use fat free mayo instead of olive oil and eggwhite, and used Italian breadcrumbs instead of the breadcrumb/cornmeal combo. I added a little smoked paprika and salt too. I used frozen hake from Costco, baked at 350 for awhile, then broiled to make the outside nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States