Cod with Italian Crumb Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
We love this and have it at least once per week. The only change we do is Mayo instead of egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is an excellent recipe- the best fish I've had in years! I followed other reviewers' advice and did not use egg white to coat the fish. Instead, I seasoned the fish with a sprinkle of black pepper and a little lemon juice, and then brushed on a mix of 2 TSP mayo and 1 tsp lemon juice on the fish. I made the breadcrumb mix as directed in the recipe and added it onto the fish after brushing on the mayo and lemon juice mix. We like extra flaky fish, so I cooked it for 25 minutes at 450 in my gas oven. My husband can't get enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe needs salt and seasoned breadcrumbs. I think it also needs the topping to be damp so it sticks. I think mixing the egg or lemon mayo in with the topping to make a kind of slurry to top the fish would alleviate the dryness problems that the oil alone can't quite manage. Garlic mayo would also be tasty. I can't recommend to follow this recipe exactly as written, but relatively minor technical adjustments will make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin A. M. Spharler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made this as the recipe said. It was good but could be better. The crumb topping was very dry. Next time I will try the lo fat mayo/lemon juice instead of the egg white and probably leave out the corn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Followed recipe to the letter… we loved it!!! I'm going to make fish tacos with the leftovers!! Home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I have now made this twice and it has become one of my favs. When making the bread crumb mixture feel free to be liberal with the parm cheese (or other seasonings for that matter). This is super easy and dresses up a basic fish nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I thought the recipe was easy and tasty. I served it with artichokes fre
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Very easy to make and my hubby and little man LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bugsgriffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Very good. I thought I had bought thick chunks of cod but when I opened it up they were tiny ones. manage to coat the small its all over. Lovely. Enjoyed by all. Thanks for brill recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was pretty good, and really the only reason I took off a star was because I used light mayo/lemon juice instead of the egg white (I was out of eggs!) I forgot to mix the oil with the bread crumbs, so I kinda sprinkled it on top. Next time I'll try mixing it and see if it holds together better. I also seasoned the fish with Old Bay and a dash of salt before putting everything on it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shy422

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clive, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States