Cod au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I made this exactly as the recipe says. It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Way too bland and runny, maybe with some vegetable would be better but I won't be trying it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This turned out very good, my husband and 10 year old liked it and they are not fish eaters. Told my son it was Mac n cheese, he said it was weird mac n cheese but he liked it. I sautéed cod in olive oil with minced garlic. Only other thing different was I added crushed butter flavor crackers on top. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Ater reading the recipe I knew the sauce would be too bland for my family so I took the liberty of adding some seasoning to flavor the sauce. I would have given this recipe a 5 star rating but boiling the fish prior made it seem overcooked after being in the oven. It was good enough to consider making it a second time so next time I will skip the boiling process (even if that is the traditional way to prepare it). My additions to the sauce were garlic powder, dry mustard and a dash of worchestershire sauce. I also added flavored panko breadcrumb to the top, cut down on the cheese by 1/2 cup and mixed sharp cheddar with mozzarella cheese. Overall this was a nice addition to add to my recipe box and something different to do with Cod fish considering I had only ever battered and fried it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
My husband and I are trying dishes from other lands and this was sure a nice treat. The sauce is so creamy. I sort of layered my cod, sauce and cheese, then topped with a butter cracker, cheese and fried onion mixture. I didn't have cheddar and used a mild Colby jack cheese which paired very well with such a mild flavored fish. My husband said I can make this one again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
my family complained that this had little taste. If I make it again, I will add more salt and perhaps put cheese in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
OMG! This was so good! I did not use the requested cheese. I used sharp cheddar and added chopped onions and peppers between the layers. I also added fresh herbs to the cod before putting it on my skillet for a minute or two.Even my eldest daughter liked it and she does not care for fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious! This white sauce is super easy but if you are a fan of Shirleyj (shirleyj.com) mixes, used her white sauce mix instead of making the white sauce here. This is really a yummy way to do fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I like some others added garlic and old bay and layered the cod, sauce and cheese. It was excellent. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucama, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This recipe was fantastic! I used cheddar cheese that I freshly grated and I think that helps to step the whole thing up a notch. I used cod loin because that's what I had on hand. After the sauce was done, I added about 1 tsp of salt, about a 1/2 tsp of pepper, a bit of ground garlic and a sprinkling of smoked paprika to it. For the layers, I did fish, sauce, half the cheese and then repeated one more time. After baking for 20 minutes I put the whole thing under the broiler for a minute to get a nice crust on the top. My husband and I barely talked during dinner, savoring every bite! This recipe is definitely staying in the rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States