Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This is a good recipe,similar to the Bermuda Cod Fish Cake recipe, for added flavour add 1/2 Tbs of crushed fresh thyme or dried Thyme, season to taste using black pepper, seasoning salt & garlic powder. Chill the mixture in the refrigerator for an hour, this will blend the flavors and solidify mixture to avoid crumbling when frying. Before frying coat in seasoned flour mixture (white flour, seasoning salt, black pepper and paprika, this will ensure a nice crispy coating and no crumbling. For perfect even cakes, try using an ice-cream scoop to form balls and shape with hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton City, Hamilton City, Bermuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, but make it with whitefish or turbot or something. When you buy cod, it's from the Spanish and Portugese trollers that are destroying Newfoundland fisheries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
When we Bajans (Barbadians) make codfish cakes, we, too, add either potatoes or cooked calabasa/pumpkin to keep the cakes from becoming too tough. Also usually use salt cod -- which is freshened by either soaking it overnight (changing water several times) or boiling and then rinsing and flaking the fish 3 - 4 times. (I've recently taken to just purchasing frozen cod filets which I boil up once and then flake for use in the recipe!) We add more herbs and spices (thyme, oregano, garlic powder, curry powder, paprika) and hot peppers (diced habañeros) or sauce (Louisiana-style) to taste. Flour, baking powder, and an egg are also added, along with enough water to make a thick batter, which is dropped into hot oil and fried. (I prefer to use a deep fat fryer so that the cakes have a crisp outer seal yet remain tender inside.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
4 stars due to changes required. I boiled the potato and cod with 2 garlic cloves and half an onion. Then mashed it all together, added thyme, red pepper flakes and some bread crumbs. Finally covered each cake in bread crumbs, cooled in the fridge for one hour (which allows them to harden and will not break apart during cooking). Then seared in a hot pan on both sides before finishing in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was a very good recipe! I did make some changes though. It seemed a bit plain, so I added about 3 T. of red bell pepper, some salt and pepper and Everglades seasoning. The mixture was too sticky, so I mixed in about 5 oz. of italian bread crumbs. My family loved them and I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
My husband and I grew up with Cod Fish Cakes as the ultimate comfort food. These were evn better than the ones we remembered!!! Lent isn't a sacrifice with these babies on your table! Just a warning tho - grating the onion will lead to red eyes, but the result is definitely worth it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bellmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
WE LOVED IT, I ADDED OLD BAY AND PEPPER TO THE WATER AND TESTED IT BREADED AND FRIED VERSUS BAKED NOT WORTH THE EXTRA CALORIES, WILL BAKE HERE ON IN THANKS FOR SUCH AN EASY, DELICIOUS MEAL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne R.
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Mmm... these fish cakes really made my night. I made the recipe for 1/2 pound of fish, and it turned out wicked delicious. I STRONGLY agree with anyone who has said that 2 cups of oil is too much. Absolutly. For the half recipe, I probably used 1/3 of a cup, and it was fine, and probably spared me a heart attack or two. I had a little problem when I mixed it all together- it was too wet and not firm enough to mold. However, it was easily solved by adding some fine breadcrumbs. After that, popping them into little patty form was not an issue. The texture was great, though next time I think I'll go for something a little chunkier. They ended up crispy and yummmmy! (Yes, four m's!) Try it out tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I didn't chill these before frying them but when I make them again - I will. They are quick and easy and the kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I made a few revisions to this recipe and it turned out great! I used orange roughy filets instead of cod, and red potatoes. I added a dash of kosher salt, pepper and dill to the mix. Then coated the patties with bread crumbs and cooked them for about 10 min (med heat) on my countertop grill. I think they still need a little extra something for more flavor (hmmm, maybe roasted red pepper sauce?), but all in all it was a fantastic meal I will definitely make again. And they were just as good the next day, heated in the toaster oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States