Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We LOVE these fish cakes! We will never eat "store bought" again. I follow the recipe exactly. I have used different kinds of fish, depending what is on sale. We have pan fried and deep fried them. Every way we have made them, they are delicious. Thank you for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Found this recipe while searching for a way to use all the fish in my freezer from my fiances fishing trips. I'm not a huge fan of fish, but these were really good! I did add bread crumbs to the mixture and also coated each cake with them, they were much too soft without. I added some seasonings - garlic powder, seasoned salt, cajun - but would add more next time to give it a little more kick. I had the deep fryer out for onion rings, so used it to cook these - lots of fat, I know, but it worked really well. Served them with some lemon-dill sauce and my fiance was already planning on when we should have them again before he had finished eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Wold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I used pollock instead of cod, but the cakes still tasted great. Fish sandwiches with tartar sauce were made out of the leftovers and these were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Loved this! Thanks for posting. I had some leftover (cooked) fish that my husband and son caught in the ocean. Microwaved 4 little potatos, had to use dried parsley, but the result was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Even with fish that had been frozen a bit too long, these came out delicious. I did add some extra seasoning and dredge them before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I haven't tried this yet, but when a recipe calls for "two large potatoes" and I think about the multitude of potatoes sizes, I get annoyed. How about "approximately two pounds" of potatoes" as a measurement or whatever her idea of two large ones weighs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I didn't chill these before frying them but when I make them again - I will. They are quick and easy and the kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I made these tonight for dinner. I used just under a pound of cod, 2 large baking potatoes (for their starch in hopes of it holding them together), a half teaspoon of Old Bay, and I doubled the onion and parsley. I found the mixture to be pretty stiff (a spoon stood up easily in the mixture) so I added only the egg yolk, and threw away the white. My first batch still fell apart a bit in the pan, and I was very careful- even using two spatulas. So, I dredged my second batch in flour before frying- I didn't put them in an egg wash or anything, just flour, and they held together PERFECTLY. We all enjoyed them- even my 2 year old was gobbling them up. I thought they were tasty, but I would up the seasoning a bit more next time. If the kids weren't eating them, I'd add some heat. Really, the seasonings can be adjusted to whatever your liking. These were very easy, and the recipe made a dozen, which was just enough for us. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
i made this last night but changed it as i had leftover tuna steaks, which were partially cooked. i boiled the potatoes then slowly added the tuna to the drained potatoes (the heat form the potatoes cooked the remaining tuna). i added fresh chillies,garlic,parsley and chives as well as salt n pepper. I breaded them and fried them for 3mins each. They were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minxy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
It was delicious! My room mates don't like fish, and they liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~College*Girl~

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weiser, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States