Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Really good. Even my 4 year old liked them. I thought it could use more fish though and next time I make it I will add more. I also added Old Bay seasoning to my mix and it added just the touch of flavor it needed. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I only had sweet potatoes so I had to substitute, and had to add some bread crumbs to form good patties. I used parsley, salt, pepper, paprika and some pre-mixed "southwest chipotle" spices to season the mixture. I served this with a spicy sauce similar to a "bloomin' onion" sauce. These tasted wonderful, my husband ate 3 of them! I'll definitely add this to my recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were ok, but not very flavorful. I followed others suggestions and added some thyme, also cooled them in the fridge for over an hour. Then coated in whole wheat flour (we don't use white) with various Italian style seasonings. I think next time I will try adding more onion, some crushed garlic, and cooking in a different oil (used olive this time). I may try baking them too. My toddler did enjoy them dipped in ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
2 large potatoes? Way too much. The results were fishy hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I think an egg might be helpful in binding this recipe. I use that in my salmon cakes and toss them in crushed saltine cracker crumbs. Just a thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except used green onions instead of white and added salt & pepper. Although I refrigerated for one hour, they did not hold together well when frying. For the last few, I added some breadcrumbs which did the trick. These tasted great, and would definitely make again with revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have to agree with some of the other reviewer that this was way too soft and sticky to form into patties. I even added 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I was so disappointed because I have been looking for a good cod fish cake for years. I would not use it as written again. I usually prepare recipes as written but had to do something as they would not hold together and I didn't want to waste the ingredients. They were tasty so I have a 2 but it is not something I would make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was a good base recipe for me. I add garlid, Thyme, and double the parsley, I omit the egg and butter because they are moist enough without the egg and I substitute the butter with Simply Best for a healthier take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Recipe! I use it frequently with leftover fish from other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Sooooooo yummy!! Can't wait to make and have them again, One of the best fish cake recipies that I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States