Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
When we Bajans (Barbadians) make codfish cakes, we, too, add either potatoes or cooked calabasa/pumpkin to keep the cakes from becoming too tough. Also usually use salt cod -- which is freshened by either soaking it overnight (changing water several times) or boiling and then rinsing and flaking the fish 3 - 4 times. (I've recently taken to just purchasing frozen cod filets which I boil up once and then flake for use in the recipe!) We add more herbs and spices (thyme, oregano, garlic powder, curry powder, paprika) and hot peppers (diced habañeros) or sauce (Louisiana-style) to taste. Flour, baking powder, and an egg are also added, along with enough water to make a thick batter, which is dropped into hot oil and fried. (I prefer to use a deep fat fryer so that the cakes have a crisp outer seal yet remain tender inside.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
2 cups of oil is WAY too much-- oily, soggy, greasy, and definitely not healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, but make it with whitefish or turbot or something. When you buy cod, it's from the Spanish and Portugese trollers that are destroying Newfoundland fisheries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but it sounds similar to one my family has used for generations. Our only difference is that we use salt cod which has been poached twice (to remove most of the salt). Using this may up the "flavour factor" of the fish cakes. You might also want to increase the amount of potatoes and onion used -- to stretch out the meal. Finally, frying them in butter, while packing on the calories, also adds a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I couldn't get them to stick together. But they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
great recipe just add your own spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rigina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kharkiv, Kharkiv Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
a good easy recipe made some great cakes that went down well with all the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was a great way to cook fish! Different, delicious, and the leftovers were even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Pretty, Pretty GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This was a very good recipe! I did make some changes though. It seemed a bit plain, so I added about 3 T. of red bell pepper, some salt and pepper and Everglades seasoning. The mixture was too sticky, so I mixed in about 5 oz. of italian bread crumbs. My family loved them and I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States