Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe tasted great, but maybe it was something I did wrong... I used the calculator to adjust it for 3 servings, but they were falling apart in the pan while cooking :-( I took the remaining uncooked mixture,and added some flour, and baking powder to it, and the rest of the batch came out really well. The taste was marvelous, but I think an adjustment might be needed in the mixture if cooking for a smaller amount of servings. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I did modify I added breadcrumbs to the mixture and eggbeaters mixed it and made the patties and placed patties in refrigerator for a few hours than I sprayed my Geo foreman grill cooked about 4minutes they were very good and no oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose f.
Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My husband says these are "to die for"! I did not have any potatoes but had leftover mashed potatoes. I did have to add more bread crumbs and I added coriander and cumin as also suggested. And leftover fish cakes in a hamburger bun with lettuce, tomato and cheese and a thin slice of red onion...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
i replaced the cod with mahi mahi- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne R.
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Mmm... these fish cakes really made my night. I made the recipe for 1/2 pound of fish, and it turned out wicked delicious. I STRONGLY agree with anyone who has said that 2 cups of oil is too much. Absolutly. For the half recipe, I probably used 1/3 of a cup, and it was fine, and probably spared me a heart attack or two. I had a little problem when I mixed it all together- it was too wet and not firm enough to mold. However, it was easily solved by adding some fine breadcrumbs. After that, popping them into little patty form was not an issue. The texture was great, though next time I think I'll go for something a little chunkier. They ended up crispy and yummmmy! (Yes, four m's!) Try it out tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I followed nesmar's advice and these fish cakes were absolutely delicious! Crispy on the outside, moist on the inside~My entire family loved them! They make a great meal on Friday's during Lent....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
When we Bajans (Barbadians) make codfish cakes, we, too, add either potatoes or cooked calabasa/pumpkin to keep the cakes from becoming too tough. Also usually use salt cod -- which is freshened by either soaking it overnight (changing water several times) or boiling and then rinsing and flaking the fish 3 - 4 times. (I've recently taken to just purchasing frozen cod filets which I boil up once and then flake for use in the recipe!) We add more herbs and spices (thyme, oregano, garlic powder, curry powder, paprika) and hot peppers (diced habañeros) or sauce (Louisiana-style) to taste. Flour, baking powder, and an egg are also added, along with enough water to make a thick batter, which is dropped into hot oil and fried. (I prefer to use a deep fat fryer so that the cakes have a crisp outer seal yet remain tender inside.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
2 cups of oil is WAY too much-- oily, soggy, greasy, and definitely not healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a great recipe, but make it with whitefish or turbot or something. When you buy cod, it's from the Spanish and Portugese trollers that are destroying Newfoundland fisheries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but it sounds similar to one my family has used for generations. Our only difference is that we use salt cod which has been poached twice (to remove most of the salt). Using this may up the "flavour factor" of the fish cakes. You might also want to increase the amount of potatoes and onion used -- to stretch out the meal. Finally, frying them in butter, while packing on the calories, also adds a delicious flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teejaymacd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kensington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States