Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsJamieCip
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So I had to make some changes bc I didn't have some ingredients. But it came out great anyway! (Don't laugh) I I used instant potatoes and left out the onion. I added Panko breadcrumbs (maybe 1/4 cup) along with paprika, garlic, salt, and pepper. Fried using veg oil. Very tasty! It was my first attempt at any kind of fish patty and I'm happy with how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJamieCip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was yummy. I followed the advice of several other reviewers (added additional spice, flour) to start. used sweet potato, because I had those on hand. The mix was a bit sticky. Used a light coating of flour which made it better to form into cakes. The family liked it overall, hubby and I both thought it could use a sauce, a little spicy kick.... Definitely thought refrigerating may help as others suggested. I saved some to fry up for dinner tomorrow in the fridge. Overall great recipie, will try again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Needs some salt or garlic salt, maybe some Old Bay and more fish, less potato. As written it just tasted like the potatoes. Kind of blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Reale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
As a childminder it was a tasty quick recipe to use. Suits children of all ages from babies onwards. Will certainly use it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
These are the best. I didn't fry on the stove though. My husband suggested that we try deep frying them. Perfect. Rolled them in bread crumbs and dropped them in until they were golden brown. We'll try again soon experimenting with other seasoning ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So easy! Especially adding the fish to the potatoes. The grated onion adds a lovely depth. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SalBelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was ok but it lacked flavor. It need salt, pepper, grated celery. It was alittle bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Too much potato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Very tasty! Possibly the best recipe I've tried on this site. And so simple. This will be a regular dish in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Great tasting; I followed NESMAR's advice in his/her review, which I believe was extremely helpful in improving this great recipe (especially the tip to coat in seasoned flour mixture before frying (white flour, seasoning salt, black pepper and paprika); good advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Beckham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States