Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I think an egg might be helpful in binding this recipe. I use that in my salmon cakes and toss them in crushed saltine cracker crumbs. Just a thought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly except used green onions instead of white and added salt & pepper. Although I refrigerated for one hour, they did not hold together well when frying. For the last few, I added some breadcrumbs which did the trick. These tasted great, and would definitely make again with revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have to agree with some of the other reviewer that this was way too soft and sticky to form into patties. I even added 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I was so disappointed because I have been looking for a good cod fish cake for years. I would not use it as written again. I usually prepare recipes as written but had to do something as they would not hold together and I didn't want to waste the ingredients. They were tasty so I have a 2 but it is not something I would make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was a good base recipe for me. I add garlid, Thyme, and double the parsley, I omit the egg and butter because they are moist enough without the egg and I substitute the butter with Simply Best for a healthier take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Recipe! I use it frequently with leftover fish from other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Sooooooo yummy!! Can't wait to make and have them again, One of the best fish cake recipies that I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These cakes turned out fantastic! I took several reviewer's advice and so made some modifications. I boiled 1/2 onion and a clove of garlic with the potatoes. I added thyme, red pepper powder, oregano, and curry powder. I also refrigerated the mix and coated in seasoned flour before cooking them in 1/4 cup canola oil. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I can't believe I've never reviewed these fish cakes before. I've been making this recipe for a long time now and they're awesome! I too add a little bit of bread crumbs (I don't measure...just what gives it a nice consistency). I also add some crab seasoning and coat with flour. They are one of my kids' favorites and a staple in our house! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
this recipe was good. very good, but it needed some small changes. when I made this, it was way too soft and sticky to form into patties, so I added some bread crumbs. A few small changes that were more on a personal basis were substituting cilantro for parsley, adding salt and ground red pepper, and using less oil to fry in. I also make a spicy chipotle mayo sauce that went great with these cakes, gave them just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These cod cakes were absolutely delicious.Crispy on the outside and so flavorful.They will be one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States