Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have to agree with some of the other reviewer that this was way too soft and sticky to form into patties. I even added 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I was so disappointed because I have been looking for a good cod fish cake for years. I would not use it as written again. I usually prepare recipes as written but had to do something as they would not hold together and I didn't want to waste the ingredients. They were tasty so I have a 2 but it is not something I would make again as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was a good base recipe for me. I add garlid, Thyme, and double the parsley, I omit the egg and butter because they are moist enough without the egg and I substitute the butter with Simply Best for a healthier take.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Recipe! I use it frequently with leftover fish from other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Sooooooo yummy!! Can't wait to make and have them again, One of the best fish cake recipies that I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These cakes turned out fantastic! I took several reviewer's advice and so made some modifications. I boiled 1/2 onion and a clove of garlic with the potatoes. I added thyme, red pepper powder, oregano, and curry powder. I also refrigerated the mix and coated in seasoned flour before cooking them in 1/4 cup canola oil. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I can't believe I've never reviewed these fish cakes before. I've been making this recipe for a long time now and they're awesome! I too add a little bit of bread crumbs (I don't measure...just what gives it a nice consistency). I also add some crab seasoning and coat with flour. They are one of my kids' favorites and a staple in our house! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
this recipe was good. very good, but it needed some small changes. when I made this, it was way too soft and sticky to form into patties, so I added some bread crumbs. A few small changes that were more on a personal basis were substituting cilantro for parsley, adding salt and ground red pepper, and using less oil to fry in. I also make a spicy chipotle mayo sauce that went great with these cakes, gave them just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These cod cakes were absolutely delicious.Crispy on the outside and so flavorful.They will be one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really good. It makes an average 7 cakes just so ya'll know. I would make it again but was thinking of another way of cooking the fish besides boiling. very messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Just like the ones in New England! Make the fish cakes small (larger ones fall apart) and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States