Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Great Recipe! I use it frequently with leftover fish from other meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nahant, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Sooooooo yummy!! Can't wait to make and have them again, One of the best fish cake recipies that I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
These cakes turned out fantastic! I took several reviewer's advice and so made some modifications. I boiled 1/2 onion and a clove of garlic with the potatoes. I added thyme, red pepper powder, oregano, and curry powder. I also refrigerated the mix and coated in seasoned flour before cooking them in 1/4 cup canola oil. Thanks for the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I can't believe I've never reviewed these fish cakes before. I've been making this recipe for a long time now and they're awesome! I too add a little bit of bread crumbs (I don't measure...just what gives it a nice consistency). I also add some crab seasoning and coat with flour. They are one of my kids' favorites and a staple in our house! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
this recipe was good. very good, but it needed some small changes. when I made this, it was way too soft and sticky to form into patties, so I added some bread crumbs. A few small changes that were more on a personal basis were substituting cilantro for parsley, adding salt and ground red pepper, and using less oil to fry in. I also make a spicy chipotle mayo sauce that went great with these cakes, gave them just the right amount of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These cod cakes were absolutely delicious.Crispy on the outside and so flavorful.They will be one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Really good. It makes an average 7 cakes just so ya'll know. I would make it again but was thinking of another way of cooking the fish besides boiling. very messy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Just like the ones in New England! Make the fish cakes small (larger ones fall apart) and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These were fantastic. What a great way to use up leftover mashed potatoes. I did dredge them in flour before frying, and next time I will coat them in breadcrumbs first, as I'm sure this will make them even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
We LOVE these fish cakes! We will never eat "store bought" again. I follow the recipe exactly. I have used different kinds of fish, depending what is on sale. We have pan fried and deep fried them. Every way we have made them, they are delicious. Thank you for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States