Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I added a little garlic powder, salt, pepper and dill weed. I also added green onion & Italian bread crumbs like one of the other reviewers did. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use leftover fish....this was the closest I could find. I made this for lunch, and had a couple leftover, which became breakfast. I loved this! Can't wait to have fish again so I can have my fish cakes. I did add Old Bay and used chopped green onions instead of grated onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I used leftover baked potato in this recipe, so I mashed that up in a bowl, added the cod which I had fried in butter, then fried onions and a garlic clove, then added some green onion to that at the end to wilt it. Didn't have any parsley so added thyme. Added all that to my potato/fish mixture and mashed. Scooped it out into 1/3 cup portions (which made 8 cakes), rolled in masa corn flour, then fried in olive oil. It was good, my son who claims he does not like cod went back for a second fish cake. I used one small and one large potato as I only had a 400g package of cod (which is 54g less than a pound), didn't need the egg to hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
this precipe is a good basic recipe, but i find it was too wet, so i added some bread crumbs. i find it tastes like hashbrowns and scrambled eggs, so i eat it with ketchup. i find even when i add my own spices it's still lacking on flavor, but my family likes it so i make it every so often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I made these tonight to rave reviews! The possibilities of this yummy fish cake are endless! I would try garlic, fresh basil, lime juice, soy sauce, other kinds of fish or - abalone ... Thanks for the simple, steadfast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
SOOO easy to make. I added a lot of spices when I was boiling and when frying. Definitely put in the fridge for a bit before frying or else they will probably fall apart. I found 3-5 minutes a side for a pretty decent sized patty worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I actually made these with sole (it was what I had on hand). The first couple did not hold together very well, but they got better when I made the next couple a little bigger. When I make hem next time I might add a little pepper and possibly dill instead of the parsley. Otherwise my husband and I really enjoyed our special dinner =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakisisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A great, easy recipe. I used haddock instead of cod and it was delicious! It was a little bland as the recipe suggests so I recomend a side of baked beans and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was a good starting point but it really needed some help in the flavor department. Not enough seasonings and way too much potato. One or even none would be fine and I think a better replacement would be some Panko bread crumbs. I added chopped celery, lemon zest, lemon thyme, black pepper, a bit of Old Bay and coated with bread crumbs before frying. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States