Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used this as my base recipe but changed things along the way. I used tilapia as it's what I had at home and instead of boiling it with the potatoes, I baked the filets with lime salt, pepper and chili flakes to give it more flavor. I added parsley to the mash and more seasoning and dipped them in breadcrumbs before frying them. They stayed whole and were easy to make into patties. I'm not a fan of fish but I found them really quite good. As I said, excellent base recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
YUMMY! Like some others I adjusted a bit, added 1/2 chopped green and yellow peppers, some seafood seasoning, substituted cilantro for the parsley and added garlic. Also had to add 2 pieces of bread to it due to texture too wet and then rolled my cakes in panko bread crumbs before pan searing them. NEXT TIME I'm going to try instant mashed potato flakes to speed things up & spray the panko crumb coating with nonstick spray and simply bake them. But I WILL BE making this again! And plan to try it out with Salmon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Love fish cakes..but a little tip is to put them in the fridge for a couple hours..before frying them..they will stay together better...good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I have never been a big fan of fish cakes. I eat them because the man loves them. The only change I made was to add some garlic, extra onion and saute instead of fry, and a serve with lemon wedges. He likes them, and that makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Not very good at all. No flavour and mushy and fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
These came out great! I subbed chives for the parsley, as that's all I had on hand, and added salt & pepper. They could probably use a bit more flavor, maybe some garlic, but I served with a roasted red pepper and garlic mayo (with a little horseradish), so the spicy dipping sauce complimented the fish cakes perfectly! I particularly like this recipe because it calls for no bread crumbs or other filler - I thought the mixture was too moist, but after letting it sit for a couple minutes while I heated up the pan, it held together perfectly while still retaining its moisture, and best of all, they are actually quite easy to make. Will definitely makes these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I added a little garlic powder, salt, pepper and dill weed. I also added green onion & Italian bread crumbs like one of the other reviewers did. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use leftover fish....this was the closest I could find. I made this for lunch, and had a couple leftover, which became breakfast. I loved this! Can't wait to have fish again so I can have my fish cakes. I did add Old Bay and used chopped green onions instead of grated onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAVEWOMAN884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendship, New York, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States