Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a good base for a recipe but the cakes were very bland and we had to add a lot of extra ingredients before we felt it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This recipe was perfect, we loved it, I dipped mine in flour before frying.Simply fantastic five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I gave it one star, I tried based on 4 stars reviews, but definitely not try this again. It tasted more like potato cakes instead of cod cakes, very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Tried this last night for me and my boyfriend. Very plain. Needs WAY more seasoning in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I added salt, pepper and garlic. Mine were quite dry and crumbly. I may have needed another egg. But they did taste quite good with the Basa I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I changed the recipe by frying the onions until they were crispy and brown and added red pepper as well. Added sesame seeds browned to the mixture. Added celery (dehydrated) salt and pepper and garlic powder and one egg. Fried it,but it fell apart. The recipe needs bread crumbs added..probably panko crumbs would work well. The next time that I make the fish cakes I'll use the quisinart to blend the raw fish, add the cooked potato add scallions and onions bread crumbs..about a cup with the potatoes and then it will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I usually make my fish cakes without the use of mashed potatoes, but I decided to give this recipe a try since I didn't have too much fish left and I wanted to add substance to the cakes. I'm not sure if the consistency of the fish cake is supposed to be soft/mushy, but they were. I only used 2 med potatoes and didn't add too much moisture to the mix. They were pretty hard to handle while frying up without the use of two spatulas :( I think I'll omit the potatoes next time or wait til I have more fish on hand. They still turned out quite tasty, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Didn't make any changes to the recipe, and the family loved it, even my normally picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe, my husband grew up in Nova Scotia and said his mom always made cod fish cakes. When he asked me if I could try to make them I was so thankful to find this recipe. I made it exactly as written, but added 2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. I was not sure what type of potatoes to use, as I wanted a type that would make into a patty and stick together well, so I chose Yellow fleshed potatoes ( yukon gold ) and they were perfect ! After the first bite my husband said that it took him back a few years as they were very similar to his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
delicious fish cakes! my 83 year old mom said they were better than hers, and we live on the Atlantic coast in Canada, where cod fishcakes have LONG been a staple. i was very happy with the results, and will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States