Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I usually make my fish cakes without the use of mashed potatoes, but I decided to give this recipe a try since I didn't have too much fish left and I wanted to add substance to the cakes. I'm not sure if the consistency of the fish cake is supposed to be soft/mushy, but they were. I only used 2 med potatoes and didn't add too much moisture to the mix. They were pretty hard to handle while frying up without the use of two spatulas :( I think I'll omit the potatoes next time or wait til I have more fish on hand. They still turned out quite tasty, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Didn't make any changes to the recipe, and the family loved it, even my normally picky kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe, my husband grew up in Nova Scotia and said his mom always made cod fish cakes. When he asked me if I could try to make them I was so thankful to find this recipe. I made it exactly as written, but added 2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning. I was not sure what type of potatoes to use, as I wanted a type that would make into a patty and stick together well, so I chose Yellow fleshed potatoes ( yukon gold ) and they were perfect ! After the first bite my husband said that it took him back a few years as they were very similar to his mothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
delicious fish cakes! my 83 year old mom said they were better than hers, and we live on the Atlantic coast in Canada, where cod fishcakes have LONG been a staple. i was very happy with the results, and will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chronicbon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
really good, i omitted the egg and put the mixture in the fridge for an hour before making patties, then tossed in a mixture of flour and herbs before frying, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
new to the site.....I fish out of Montauk and had a nice catch of cod fish so I tried this and man I am hooked..added just a little of my own spice and it is was great...im a 50 year old guy who just is falling in love w/ cooking.... kids and wife are happy too and love my cod fish cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
this recipe is very similar to my mothers, we use dried salt cod,shredded and soaked then chopped,lots of onions,with salt pork and a little bacon.sauteed and lots of boiled spuds..mixed ,formed into patties,dredged in egg and then flour and fried in butter with olive oil (just to cut the butter down ,but not the flavour ) soooo good!! dont use bread crumbs ..it ruins the flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I used this as my base recipe but changed things along the way. I used tilapia as it's what I had at home and instead of boiling it with the potatoes, I baked the filets with lime salt, pepper and chili flakes to give it more flavor. I added parsley to the mash and more seasoning and dipped them in breadcrumbs before frying them. They stayed whole and were easy to make into patties. I'm not a fan of fish but I found them really quite good. As I said, excellent base recipe to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
YUMMY! Like some others I adjusted a bit, added 1/2 chopped green and yellow peppers, some seafood seasoning, substituted cilantro for the parsley and added garlic. Also had to add 2 pieces of bread to it due to texture too wet and then rolled my cakes in panko bread crumbs before pan searing them. NEXT TIME I'm going to try instant mashed potato flakes to speed things up & spray the panko crumb coating with nonstick spray and simply bake them. But I WILL BE making this again! And plan to try it out with Salmon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GurleyGirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States