Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Good base for a great cake....but lots of adjustments needed. I used Tilapia but likely just about any fish would work. Use what you like! When mashing your mixture, wait to add the egg. Then you can TASTE and add whatever you like to your preference: salt & pepper, other seasonings (garlic salt or powder), grated celery or other veggies like bell peppers, fresh or dried herbs (I added chives), lemon juice or lemon zest, etc. (I WISH I would have added lemon zest) Trust your instincts. If your mixture is mushy or difficult to shape, add bread crumbs, cubed toast, panko crumbs, etc. (I used store bought bread crumbs) When you like what you taste... add the egg, shape the patties and refrigerate for an hour, or freeze for 20 minutes. This REALLY helps the patties stay together during the cooking process. Use a nice, hot pan with heated oil to get crispy cakes. Oh, I also dredged in flour before frying. Hope the suggestions help! Teresa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Since we like a lot of flavor, I used this as a base recipe and doctored it up a bit. Also, I like to use up what's on hand. Here's what I did and they were delicious! Thanks for the idea. Used red potatoes, added minced red bell pepper, green onion (instead of the minced onion), chopped baby spinach, and of course salt and pepper. I coated the cakes in a mixture on panko and parm cheese and let them sit in the fridge to set up for about 30 minutes. I then sautéed them in about 2 tbsp evoo in a cast iron skillet on the grill. WAY healthier than the amount of oil called for and they were quite crunchy. For a dipping sauce, I whisked sour cream, horseradish, Dijon mustard, and capers. Hope you enjoy them as much as we did..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
my notes: omit onions add 2-3 stems dill fronds and fine stems only. Bbq cod leftovers for fish. new white and red potatoes approx 15 work awesome. sprayed both sides with canola oil and bbq on aluminum foil and or directly on low temp oiled grill. 5 min per side. added some extra salt and lemon herb dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is a good recipe but to have a great fish cake with crispy outside and not mushy inside you have to boil your potatoes and fish...mash them together real well, you can also fry onions and mash in them ,I personaly fry pork belly fat and onions until crispy then add a little butter..then place in fridge overnight,next day roll into balls then fry in a mixture of butter and olive oil to keep from burning...delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is a good base for a recipe but the cakes were very bland and we had to add a lot of extra ingredients before we felt it had enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This recipe was perfect, we loved it, I dipped mine in flour before frying.Simply fantastic five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I gave it one star, I tried based on 4 stars reviews, but definitely not try this again. It tasted more like potato cakes instead of cod cakes, very plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Tried this last night for me and my boyfriend. Very plain. Needs WAY more seasoning in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I added salt, pepper and garlic. Mine were quite dry and crumbly. I may have needed another egg. But they did taste quite good with the Basa I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I changed the recipe by frying the onions until they were crispy and brown and added red pepper as well. Added sesame seeds browned to the mixture. Added celery (dehydrated) salt and pepper and garlic powder and one egg. Fried it,but it fell apart. The recipe needs bread crumbs added..probably panko crumbs would work well. The next time that I make the fish cakes I'll use the quisinart to blend the raw fish, add the cooked potato add scallions and onions bread crumbs..about a cup with the potatoes and then it will be a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States