Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I prepared the potatoes and fish the day before. After forming the patties I dipped them in a mixture of equal parts breads crumbs and flour (as I found the patties to be sticky as I was forming them). Also, I baked the patties in the oven (425F) approx 12-15 minutes per side spreading a thin layer of vegetable oil on the bottom of the baking sheet (p.s. I have a gas oven,so temp may have to be adjusted). The fish cakes turned out good. This was the first time I have tried baking the patties instead of frying, as I wanted to cut back on the amount of oil used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I ENJOYED THIS RECIPE.AND I ADDED A SPLASH OF WORCESTER SAUCE,AND HALF A TIN OF COD ROE,WHEN MASHING ALL INGREDIENTS. LOVELY!AND WE ATE IT WITH UNCLE BEN,S SAVOURY RICE,AND MUSHY PEAS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvira Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Retford, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Shame on me, I should've read the reviews before I tried this recipe! I made it "as is" and I had three big problems: waaaay too much oil, the cakes fell apart when frying in the pan, and their taste was verrrry bland. I'll try some of the other reviewers' suggestions on how to help both before I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
As it is Good Friday tomorrow I am making these for my In-Laws. Thanks for the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Recipe was simple and I used catfish! I also cooked it in the deep fryer and it made the best "munchers" I have had.If the potatoes are boiled to long or not drained enough the patties won't hold. And don't be afraid to spice it to your liking I used a little hot pepper and hot salt for a spicy touch. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
A bit on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine and Matthew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This recipe tasted great, but maybe it was something I did wrong... I used the calculator to adjust it for 3 servings, but they were falling apart in the pan while cooking :-( I took the remaining uncooked mixture,and added some flour, and baking powder to it, and the rest of the batch came out really well. The taste was marvelous, but I think an adjustment might be needed in the mixture if cooking for a smaller amount of servings. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I did modify I added breadcrumbs to the mixture and eggbeaters mixed it and made the patties and placed patties in refrigerator for a few hours than I sprayed my Geo foreman grill cooked about 4minutes they were very good and no oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rose f.
Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My husband says these are "to die for"! I did not have any potatoes but had leftover mashed potatoes. I did have to add more bread crumbs and I added coriander and cumin as also suggested. And leftover fish cakes in a hamburger bun with lettuce, tomato and cheese and a thin slice of red onion...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
i replaced the cod with mahi mahi- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States