Cod Fish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I followed the recipe except that I used leftover baked cod (with panko crust) and leftover baked potatoes (scooped out of the peels and crumbled). They were soft and a little hard to flip, so next time I will put them in the fridge to firm up as some commenters recommend. A little bland but good with horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
very 'potatoey' and bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Good recipe but a bit bland for my taste. I added some finely chopped onion (along with the grated) as well as some Old Bay (a necessity for Marylanders when it comes to seafood, lol!). I tried frying in a small amount of oil and the cakes were fine. But they were even better after I lightly coated them with flour before frying. This recipe was made using 1/2 the ingredients - half of an egg was 1 tablespoon of beaten egg). I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Nelsen
Home Town: Nottingham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
First attempt at these. Tried refrigerating them as one reviewer suggested and ended up adding panko crumbs to help bind them together to be able to make patties. (Panko crumbs only breadcrumbs available) Had a gloppy mess which had my wife come to the rescue. Had a few decent patties, and a bunch of cod-potato crumbs which I still found delicious. Will make it again, but I need to rethink the process, to be able to make proper patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
It has been a while since I have made this recipe, but I have made it a few times and its a keeper. I like my food spicy so I add red pepper flakes, and that is the only changes that I make in this simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Made this Recipe today and Wife and I loved it , We did bread it with Panko before frying, A nice touch. Looks like this will be a weekly thing here in our household;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a good basic recipe for cod cakes. I did use less potato and a bit more cod. I also put some Old Bay seasoning in it. So yummy that way. ***I made this a second time. I thought I had potatoes in my pantry but was wrong!! The only thing I had was one of those mashed potato mixes with cheese added. So I used that. It actually turned out pretty well. I added the Old Bay Seasoning mix to it again. It was yummy.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooter61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I really like to add savoury to the mixture for some added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Fisher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsJamieCip
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So I had to make some changes bc I didn't have some ingredients. But it came out great anyway! (Don't laugh) I I used instant potatoes and left out the onion. I added Panko breadcrumbs (maybe 1/4 cup) along with paprika, garlic, salt, and pepper. Fried using veg oil. Very tasty! It was my first attempt at any kind of fish patty and I'm happy with how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJamieCip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was yummy. I followed the advice of several other reviewers (added additional spice, flour) to start. used sweet potato, because I had those on hand. The mix was a bit sticky. Used a light coating of flour which made it better to form into cakes. The family liked it overall, hubby and I both thought it could use a sauce, a little spicy kick.... Definitely thought refrigerating may help as others suggested. I saved some to fry up for dinner tomorrow in the fridge. Overall great recipie, will try again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States