Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I love spice and was looking for something different tonight.. This is an amazing dish! I didn't have garlic and ginger paste, so I used chopped garlic and ground ginger. I didn't have cilantro either- I used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and it made a delicious sauce served over brown rice. I cut the cod in 2 inch strips also. This was so good!!! I served it with steamed spinach/mushrooms and a side of sweet smashed potatoes which acccented the spicy cod nicely!! Thank goodness for Curry!! :9)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a great base. Loved the cod in this recipe but could have easily been chicken. This is a great place to work from. Easy to make but great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by og_77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was an easy healthy dish. I had everything but cilantro and cardamon....I will make it again using the full ingredient list since I questioned the amount of spices...thinking it needed more of everything and definitely a little more salt. Lots of wonderful juice and great over rice. I cut my cod into 2 inch rectangles from a full fillet. The fish was done in under the 15 min....I also think the spices would have come through more if I had had time to let it rest more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by mb
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was fantastic and a very easy recipe. I used Alaskan cod and like other reviewers, used fresh garlic and ginger instead of the paste. Didn't have jalapenos so I used a couple of dashes of green hot sauce. I also didn't have any cilantro, but it was fine without it. Next time I'll try the fresh jalapenos though. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was wonderful! I made a few changes based on what I had already at home: used fresh garlic and ginger instead of the paste, and used cardamom pods instead of the powder (though I hope to try making it with the powder next time). My husband said this was a "keeper" recipe. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Really yummy recipe. I had to leave out the jalapeno because I wanted to make it palatable for our kids, but the grown-ups added a spicy pickle at the table that went very well. This recipe is easy to follow and prepare, but takes a bit of time. Luckily, I had all of the ingredients available except for the ginger/garlic pastes, so I followed a recipe to make it myself, also on allrecipes.com. I think the recipe would taste wonderful with shrimp or other kinds of seafood as well as the cod. The only change that I made to the recipe was cooking the cod for only 5 minutes, instead of 15. You have to be really careful not to overcook fish or else it becomes rubbery. After 5 minutes, the fish was perfect (I had cut them in about 3/4" cubes, so maybe that's why it took so little time to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was great! Served it with Butternut Squash fries (also on allrecipes), some garlic naan, and a chilled Chardonnay. So happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I bought cod for the first time recently and I'm happy to have this unique fish dish to put into my dinner rotation. My only modification was to keep the seeds in the chiles for more heat, and add a dash of cayenne. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
We had fresh cod and at night number 3 I needed to make it differently then butter and breadcrumbs. This recipe was GREAT! My husband loved it. A big hit! Served with a lil garlic naan. Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Personally, I did not care for this recipe. I did not enjoy the combination of flavors but hubby cleaned his plate. He is typically a much pickier eater than I am. Perhaps my taste buds had taken the night off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States