Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this. I used finely minced garlic and ginger in place of the pastes, but otherwise made the recipe exactly as written. We ended up needing to add extra salt. I served it over millet. It was a great way to eat frozen fish, as I find strong flavors are helpful when not using fresh fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Great flavor and texture!! I peeled and cut 2 zucchinis into chunks and added them shortly after adding the onion. I also discovered i had no lemons or lemon juice but did have limes so i substituted lime juice. I didn't use near as much jalapeno-had a drying one and cut it up and added only some. It had quite a bite, but my 9yo ate it with lots of rice and enjoyed it. made my own garlic and ginger paste using an allrecipes recipe. I will make this again and hopefully get quicker at prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: University City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I made this with haddock instead of cod as I prefer the taste, both my husband and I really enjoyed it. It was perhaps less spicy than it might have been as I only had one chilli pepper, having said that it's probably just as well as I gave it to my 1 year old too - she enjoyed it. I prepared the sauce and then did exactly as the recipe said, I left it for a few hours whilst we went to see a show at the theatre. It was definitely a good idea, the taste had really improved and when we came home I just heated it up, added the fish, and wow...it was a really tasty meal. We had it with rice - I tried coconut rice for the first time from this website. To be honest I should have stuck with plain basmati, I would have enjoyed my fish even more. Top marks for this recipe, it's definitely one I will use again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzylou75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
This is a deliciously tasty recipe but it is not really authentic or hot as it actually has no curry in it. This very good for a guest or a friend who you know probably isn't to keen on spicy foods and probably wouldn't try something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Three Rivers, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I have tried this recipe with several kinds of fish (flounder, tilapia, grouper) and it really works well. I appreciate that it is healthy meal that tastes great. For the spices, I typically put in a bit more for flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
THis is BYYYYYY FARRRRRRRRRR THE BEST Cod I have EVER eaten...EVER!!! yummmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was terrific! I only had one 14 oz can of tomatoes, so I added a little tomato paste with the garlic and ginger, and a little water with the canned tomatoes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My husband and I enjoyed this very much. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Amazingly simple - and almost as good as my hand ground curries! Have used the tomatoe curry base with other meats such as pork - very similar to Vendalloo. Easy, quick, and scaleable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great flavors- made my own "paste" with a touch of water and the powders. My husband loved it- can't do fishy smells. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Very easy and very flavorful. I will definitely make this again. I used my zester to zest the ginger and garlic, rather than buying an expensive tube of the paste. Worked out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Pea Curry with Black Cod

Sugar snap pea sauce with seared black cod and strawberry garnish.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States