Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was wonderful! I made a few changes based on what I had already at home: used fresh garlic and ginger instead of the paste, and used cardamom pods instead of the powder (though I hope to try making it with the powder next time). My husband said this was a "keeper" recipe. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Really yummy recipe. I had to leave out the jalapeno because I wanted to make it palatable for our kids, but the grown-ups added a spicy pickle at the table that went very well. This recipe is easy to follow and prepare, but takes a bit of time. Luckily, I had all of the ingredients available except for the ginger/garlic pastes, so I followed a recipe to make it myself, also on allrecipes.com. I think the recipe would taste wonderful with shrimp or other kinds of seafood as well as the cod. The only change that I made to the recipe was cooking the cod for only 5 minutes, instead of 15. You have to be really careful not to overcook fish or else it becomes rubbery. After 5 minutes, the fish was perfect (I had cut them in about 3/4" cubes, so maybe that's why it took so little time to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was great! Served it with Butternut Squash fries (also on allrecipes), some garlic naan, and a chilled Chardonnay. So happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I bought cod for the first time recently and I'm happy to have this unique fish dish to put into my dinner rotation. My only modification was to keep the seeds in the chiles for more heat, and add a dash of cayenne. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIA22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
We had fresh cod and at night number 3 I needed to make it differently then butter and breadcrumbs. This recipe was GREAT! My husband loved it. A big hit! Served with a lil garlic naan. Easy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Personally, I did not care for this recipe. I did not enjoy the combination of flavors but hubby cleaned his plate. He is typically a much pickier eater than I am. Perhaps my taste buds had taken the night off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Fantastic! though I did tweak it a bit. I did not have any ginger paste or garlic paste so I just added a few dashes of ground ginger and minced garlic along with an extra bit of olive oil. Also instead of jalapenos, I used some hot chili sauce which I think better compliments the spices. This turned out perfectly. I love that it is low fat and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicity
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Very good! My mom loved it and she hates fish. (but she loves cilantro) Not a very strong curry flavour, but I didn't have tumeric or jalapenos so I chopped a green pepper and added a couple dashes of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was a really great way to use up cod! I didnt have some of the spices on hand so substituted curry powder and would agree with others that it needs a little bit of salt on the fish before it is added. Other than that this is a great recipe! I served it over brown rice:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. The spices blended perfectly to create a delicious, authentic-tasting curry. The only addition I made was to add a little extra salt. I served it with aloo gobhi from another site and whole wheat parathas for a delicious, not too fatty meal. To the reviewer who thought this wasn't a real curry because it did not contain curry powder: the spices in this dish come together to create a curry flavor. Curry powder is just a blend of some of the same spices found in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Pea Curry with Black Cod

Sugar snap pea sauce with seared black cod and strawberry garnish.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States