Cod Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by chikalin
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
i'm not really sure why this is called 'curry' when there is no curry powder involved. it was ok as stated, but it seemed like it was missing something. since the name involved curry, i decided to add curry powder - 6 tbsp, and 1/4 c fat free half and half. this made it much better in my opinion, something like a korma. definitely worth making again with the changes - and there really wasnt anything lost because i tried the sauce before i served it so i had time to add things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very good! Husband and friends loved it also. Didn't have tumeric so used curry powder (has it in it) instead. Left out cardemon (didn't have it either). Used 2 cloves garlic and ground ginger instead of paste. Served over jasmine rice. Made sauce earlier in day and then just heated up and added fish about 15 min before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was just delicious! I cut it down to 2 servings, but used pretty much the full amount of ingredients except only one 14.4 oz can tomatoes. I added about 1/2 cup of vegetable stock as there wasn't much liquid with my tomatoes. I used frozen, thawed cod and this came out PERFECT! (Even though I tend to be a fresh fish snob!) Great flavor, perfect amount of spice for me. Thanks, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I love spice and was looking for something different tonight.. This is an amazing dish! I didn't have garlic and ginger paste, so I used chopped garlic and ground ginger. I didn't have cilantro either- I used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and it made a delicious sauce served over brown rice. I cut the cod in 2 inch strips also. This was so good!!! I served it with steamed spinach/mushrooms and a side of sweet smashed potatoes which acccented the spicy cod nicely!! Thank goodness for Curry!! :9)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a great base. Loved the cod in this recipe but could have easily been chicken. This is a great place to work from. Easy to make but great flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by og_77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was an easy healthy dish. I had everything but cilantro and cardamon....I will make it again using the full ingredient list since I questioned the amount of spices...thinking it needed more of everything and definitely a little more salt. Lots of wonderful juice and great over rice. I cut my cod into 2 inch rectangles from a full fillet. The fish was done in under the 15 min....I also think the spices would have come through more if I had had time to let it rest more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by mb
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was fantastic and a very easy recipe. I used Alaskan cod and like other reviewers, used fresh garlic and ginger instead of the paste. Didn't have jalapenos so I used a couple of dashes of green hot sauce. I also didn't have any cilantro, but it was fine without it. Next time I'll try the fresh jalapenos though. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was wonderful! I made a few changes based on what I had already at home: used fresh garlic and ginger instead of the paste, and used cardamom pods instead of the powder (though I hope to try making it with the powder next time). My husband said this was a "keeper" recipe. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Really yummy recipe. I had to leave out the jalapeno because I wanted to make it palatable for our kids, but the grown-ups added a spicy pickle at the table that went very well. This recipe is easy to follow and prepare, but takes a bit of time. Luckily, I had all of the ingredients available except for the ginger/garlic pastes, so I followed a recipe to make it myself, also on allrecipes.com. I think the recipe would taste wonderful with shrimp or other kinds of seafood as well as the cod. The only change that I made to the recipe was cooking the cod for only 5 minutes, instead of 15. You have to be really careful not to overcook fish or else it becomes rubbery. After 5 minutes, the fish was perfect (I had cut them in about 3/4" cubes, so maybe that's why it took so little time to cook).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This was great! Served it with Butternut Squash fries (also on allrecipes), some garlic naan, and a chilled Chardonnay. So happy with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States