Coco's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
With all the glowing reviews and knowing my husband wouldn't touch it with a 10' pole had he spotted an onion, I couldn't wait to try this method of pureeing the veggies. I didn't have green peppers on hand but I did use the onion. We were quite disappointed in this meatloaf. I felt this meatloaf was quite bland and was missing something. I am sure it would have been better with the green peppers. I don't think I will be using this one again, but I will use the puree method on my next meatloaf. He never knew the onions were in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This meatloaf had a very good taste to it, but I like more texture to meatloaf. I made it as written and pureeing the veggies, milk and egg made for a softer meatloaf. I really enjoyed it the second day as a meatloaf sandwich with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was definitely a child-friendly recipe, with no chunks of onion or peppers and no ground black pepper. I actually prefer to find bits of veggies, because I think they give more flavor than the "pasteurized" version. Mom's version of meatloaf includes bread crumbs, but the cracker crumbs made this a very tender loaf. I cooked for the full hour, and let rest for 15 minutes. I will make again, but I will add more mustard and some ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Needless to say, my husband is picky, I'm a surgeon and can't cook, and he liked it still!!!!! YAY! Better than standard. Added A-1, just a splash? haha.Used regular mustard in the wet mix instead of dry...didn't even know what dry mustard was. sub red, yel, and orange, peppers for green and onion b/c I didn't have any green or onion. was still tasty! I did throw in some dried onion for flavor...maybe a tsp? WTVR, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I looked like a rock star serving this for my husband birthday! He requested meatloaf and this sure did deliver! My family raved about how delicious this was! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN3404

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Best Meatloaf ever. I did take a few cues from the other reviews. I added garlic to the meat loaf puree. I also added Worcestershire to the topping. I used a pesto crouton instead of saltines. It was delicious. I have been told to keep this on the repeat list my husband did request I use less spice on the next go round. So I will try to reduce the crouton's by half and add half bland bread crumbs or something of that nature. I am finding the left overs a bit tangy but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lfreeman70
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Loved this meatloaf! You can have this meal within the hour! I didn't have bell pepper but I did use the saltine crackers. I used this recipe for a Halloween mold to create a meatloaf mummy. It worked great and held together wonderfully. I think the only thing that I would try in the future, would be to add garlic as my family loves garlic. But it tasted great even without it. I did like a review from Jennylou138 that I might try in the future also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have been making meatloaf all different ways for many years, following my Moms recipes and my sisters. I love them all. This one my husband actually raved about!!! Although I don't use beef, I used a combination of turkey and veal. I think blending the onion pepper eggs and milk combination does something to make it the most moist meatloaf I ever tasted!!! I added fresh garlic and a teaspoon of brown sugar. Also I combined bbq sauce and ketchup and spread it over the top. Amazing!!!!! Thanks Coco and Steve for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This meatloaf has a good flavor and it is also moist. I have other meatloaf recipes that I like, but I am making room for this one too. It is so delicious and different than any of the other recipes. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome meatloaf... Meatloaf is one of my husband's all-time favorite foods. Unfortunately, it is one food I've never really made well. Even though I don't dislike meatloaf, I never cared for it enough to learn to make it. My first few attempts were-- well-- not good. When I saw this recipe, it seemed like it would hit the mark. After all, how could a grandma named Coco be wrong? It did hit the mark! My husband LOVED it. He even commented, "This will make kickin' sandwiches tomorrow!" He said Coco definitely knew what she was doing. I even had a second helping. :) The texture is spot-on which can make or break a meatloaf in my opinion. The blending of the veggies was a genius idea and actually made prep faster because I didn't have to spend extra time carefully chopping. (I admit that I did throw a couple of garlic cloves in the blender.) Thanks Coco and Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bruce, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States