Coco's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lfreeman70
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Loved this meatloaf! You can have this meal within the hour! I didn't have bell pepper but I did use the saltine crackers. I used this recipe for a Halloween mold to create a meatloaf mummy. It worked great and held together wonderfully. I think the only thing that I would try in the future, would be to add garlic as my family loves garlic. But it tasted great even without it. I did like a review from Jennylou138 that I might try in the future also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I have been making meatloaf all different ways for many years, following my Moms recipes and my sisters. I love them all. This one my husband actually raved about!!! Although I don't use beef, I used a combination of turkey and veal. I think blending the onion pepper eggs and milk combination does something to make it the most moist meatloaf I ever tasted!!! I added fresh garlic and a teaspoon of brown sugar. Also I combined bbq sauce and ketchup and spread it over the top. Amazing!!!!! Thanks Coco and Steve for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This meatloaf has a good flavor and it is also moist. I have other meatloaf recipes that I like, but I am making room for this one too. It is so delicious and different than any of the other recipes. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome meatloaf... Meatloaf is one of my husband's all-time favorite foods. Unfortunately, it is one food I've never really made well. Even though I don't dislike meatloaf, I never cared for it enough to learn to make it. My first few attempts were-- well-- not good. When I saw this recipe, it seemed like it would hit the mark. After all, how could a grandma named Coco be wrong? It did hit the mark! My husband LOVED it. He even commented, "This will make kickin' sandwiches tomorrow!" He said Coco definitely knew what she was doing. I even had a second helping. :) The texture is spot-on which can make or break a meatloaf in my opinion. The blending of the veggies was a genius idea and actually made prep faster because I didn't have to spend extra time carefully chopping. (I admit that I did throw a couple of garlic cloves in the blender.) Thanks Coco and Steve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bruce, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I found the flavour perfect, but wouldn't bother with the ketchup topping again, a topping that was a little more... visually appealing would work better for me. The loaf held together perfectly, but I think I'll try one less egg next time, I found it a little moist for my taste. Great meatloaf though overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Everybody loves this meatloaf recipe! I do use red bell pepper instead of green. Every time I make it, the family tells me I should have doubled the recipe so we would have leftovers. Once I used crushed Ritz crackers as I ran out of saltines and that was great too. I do use my grandmother's meatloaf glaze of ketchup, mustard and brown sugar simmered on the stove until combined and then spread on top of meatloaf with extra for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I had to make a few adjustments but this was phenomenal meatloaf! Switched out almond milk and Earth Balance to make is dairy free, oats in place of crackers, half ground beef/pork, added an extra 1/4 C almond milk because I only had old fashioned oats. Cooked a little longer and it was the most tender, stick together meatloaf I have ever had. Just don't tell my mom. This make 2 good sized loaves. One for today, one to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I dont have a lot of experience making meatloaf, but after watching the video I had to try it. I didnt have dry mustard so I added a teaspoon of table mustard and from reading other meatloaf recipes I added 1/4 cup brown sugar to the meat. For the topping I put ketchup on half and barbecue on the other. Both sides turned out delicious but the barbecue gave it a little more of a kick. I do recommend trying! Also I had to cook for 50 mins instead of 45 mins and to add to one reviewer, one whole sleeve of saltine crackers is 2 cups. My kids absolutely loved it and my husband couldnt get enough! I will definitely be making this one again!! Thank you Steve for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
First time ever cooking meatloaf. This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I had no saltines. I used half french bread crumbs, and half crushed vegi-thins. I also put ten fresh sage leaves on top of the ketchup glaze. By the way, this is by far the easiest thing to make, can't get anything wrong, I'm giving it to my idiot friend who can't cook. and it was soft, so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States