Coconut Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I used "smart balance" instead of butter, cut the flour to 3 cups as suggested, and used vanilaa because I ddin't have coconut extract. They came out yummy but crumby. And the first batch I left in for 7 1/2 minutes on each side after i sliced them and they burnt. The second batch I left in for only 5 minutes per side which was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This is really good, But I added about 2tbs. of water because the first batch was a little too crumbly. I also glazed it with white chocolate which gave the cookie a full taste, so that its sufficiently tasty by itself!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marina, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sixkyej
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I decreased the flour to 3 cups, increased coconut to 3/4 cup. Great with a nice coconut flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome biscotti! This is the first of six different kinds that I made from this site and it is my favorite out of all of them. Followed recipe as written but sub. pecans for the walnuts and toasted the coconut. Try this, it really is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Another post indicated that the flour should be reduced while adding more coconut. I always try the recipe as written before moving on to changes others may recommend; in this case I wish I had cut the flour as these became a little gummy as I worked in the last bit of flour and then the nuts and coconut. So definitely reduce the flour to 3 cups and you'l have better results. As for the flavor, these are A++ with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
ohmygod. i love biscotti and i make TONS of it for my family during christmas and was looking for a new recipe to try out. so this past christmas i tried this one out and it is BY FAR my most FAVORITE biscotti EVER-everyone loved it and it turned out perfect everytime. i like these biscotti mostly because i love coconut haha but also because they were thicker and different than most of the chocolate dipped or dried fruit filled biscotti out there. great recipe-thank you for adding to my family tradition!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeobsessed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made these for a church picnic and they were very well received. I saw kids and older adults both enjoying the biscotti. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
First time making biscotti and these were really good. A little different than your usual biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ewilson
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good. Although like suggested in the other reviews, I only put in 3 cups of flour and little bit more coconut than asked for. I aslo did not add the walnuts (allergies). The dough was very dry but by adding some milk that problem was solved. In the end, the changes were worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Wow! I made a few kinds of biscotti for my family, and they liked this one so much they barely touched the other kinds. Like the other reviewers said, it's a bit crumbly, but it's nothing a little milk wouldn't fix easily. Simple recipe, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States