Coconut Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Loved this recipe! The dough was crumbly for me because I was impatient and dumped all of my flour mixture into the creamed mixture at once. this would be a good reason to watch a video about making biscotti before attempting it. oops. I packed it all together into the log shapes and they still turned out just fine. I use a pizza cutter to cut the slices with, starting at each side and meeting each cut in the middle so I don't force the side edge into breaking, if that makes sense. I've made this the original way with the coconut, but I prefer to substitute 1 tablespoon grated orange rind, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 2 tsp almond extract for an orange amaretto flavor. Next time I'll make sure to dip the bottoms in white melting bark for a nicer look because I usually end up giving half away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This one is a KEEPER! I love biscotti's and these were oh so good. After reading the reviews, I added the flour a cup at a time and I ended up using only 2 cups. Also, yes I did some changes ONLY because I use this awesome website for ideas to use what I already have on hand. SO I used 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla extract, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract, pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Tastes so good with coffee. Use less flour and more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This recipe is always a hit with friends, family & co-workers. Their yearly requests usually start just before Thanksgiving to make sure I don't forget to make THEIR treats for Christmas. I melt white chocolate and drizzle over each piece. It really finishes it off and adds an excellent sweetness, especially when dipped in coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was the first recipe I tried for biscotti and it will be the only one I use. I added lemon extract in an equal amount to the coconut extract for a little addition to the coconut. I also toasted the coconut prior to adding it. I found the dough to be very crumbly however so I added an extra egg. The result is a great tasting coffee dunker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrendaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Just finished making these - FAB-O. I did use less flour - somewhere between 2 1/2 and 3 cups along with a cup of toasted coconut and a little extra extract. Will be making them many times in the future for family and friends!! I've been making Cinnamon Hazelnut recipe only using almonds and almond ext. They have always been our favorite - but I really think everyone will like these every bit as much - maybe more. I'll probably put some white chocolate (with some left over sprinkles of toasted coconut) on some of them - but they really have a nice sweet flavor already and will enjoy them plain as well. THANKS CARL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Good, but I think I over baked mine. Seemed a bit too dry, even for biscotti. But I definitely loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Definitely decrease the flour amount to 2 1/2 CUPS. I increased coconut extract to 2 tsp., increased shredded coconut to 3/4 cup and used 1 cup slivered almonds. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this recipe with modifications this afternoon. I should have double it. I replaced the coconut extract with strong rum, half cup roasted coconut, 1 cup chopped walnut and about one cup of chocolat chips semi sweet and cut the flour to 3 cups. I should have cut the sugar by one quarter cup because of the chocolat chips. They are a litle bit too sweet for me but excellent for the sweet tooth. I give it a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I'm sure this recipe is great as written but biscotti really lends it self to substitutions and so I did. Followed the suggestion of other reviewers and reduced flour to 3 cups. Used chopped almonds in place of walnuts and 3 extracts: 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla, coconut, and almond. With addition of mini chocolate chips it's like Almond Joy biscotti! It's easier to slice if it cools for a full 15 mins first and don't use a sawing motion when slicing - just cut straight through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States