Coconut Walnut Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I serve this biscotti every Christmas and it is a big hit. I made a few changes: I decreased the flour to 3 cups (perfect), increased the coconut to 3/4 cup and toasted it, and used toasted pecans or almonds instead of walnuts (I like the flavor of the other two better). One time I forgot to add the coconut extract and the coconut flavor was not nearly so pronounced. I usually drizzle chocolate over the top for looks. This is a really great recipe, and if you like coconut you will fall in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is a nice twist on walnut biscotti. I'd like to offer these suggestions to aid in flavor and forming: Decrease flour to 3 cups, toast the coconut til lightly browned and crunchy and increase to 1 cup, add a generous Tablespoon of Malibu rum instead of the coconut flavoring. Proceed with recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Great recipe with changes. Decrease flour to 2 1/2c, increase coconut to 3/4c and add 1/2c mini semi-sweet chocolate chips. I use slivered almonds or macadamia nuts in place of walnuts. I bake biscotti at least twice a month and this is the new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
What did I do wrong, Carl? My dough turned out very dry and crumbly. I couldn't get it to form into a log. I ended up making little cookies out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Yum! Yum! Using the extract is the key to the taste in this, so don't skip the extract! Some reviews said this was too crumbly (just add some milk to the mix, people!), but mine came out great. I dipped some in white chocolate and others in dark--excellent! Tip: Use a ruler to help shape the biscotti: use the flat side of a normal 12 inch ruler and "scrape" the biscotti into shape on a flat (preferably cold) countertop. This way you can tell just how thick and how flat the biscotti is; if that made any sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuperbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
****5 star biscotti recipe. Great tea or coffee biscuit as well. YUMMY! Only change was to add one cup of coconut and I lessened the flour as another reviewer suggested to 3 cups. I did add in extra coconut extract for I like a strong coconut flavor to my cookies. Oh and I only had almonds so I used them instead of walnuts. I dipped half of the batch in milk choc and kept half plain. Both were more than 5 stars. MMMMMM! Will be using these in my Xmas cookie tins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Awesome biscotti! This is the first of six different kinds that I made from this site and it is my favorite out of all of them. Followed recipe as written but sub. pecans for the walnuts and toasted the coconut. Try this, it really is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberty, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Excellent recipe. Crispy and flavorful. Its a very good basic recipe in which you can sub. lemon, almond or orange extract for the coconut extract. Toast your coconut for the extra nutty coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
This is a very nice biscotti. It is a little richer than biscotti made with egg only. The butter in this recipe makes it very rich. The coconut flavor is very subtle. This is also quite easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHECOOKS2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These turned out fine for me...maybe a bit drier than other biscotti I've tried. If the dough crumbles when you try to make your logs, add a bit of liquid like a drop or two of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States