Coconut Tofu Keema Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Wonderful! My dinner guests were very impressed and I felt like a true gourmet chef serving this. Like others, I cut the tomato sauce down to 1 (15oz) can. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
VERY good. I took other reviewer's advice and cut waaaay down on the tomato sauce. I only used one cup, and it was perfect. I also didn't have red pepper paste, so I replaced it with red curry, as another reviewer did, and it turned out great. I omitted carrots because I didn't have any on hand. After cooking for half an hour I added a bit more seasoning. I think next time I might add raisins. I might also use paneer instead of tofu the next time I make this. I served it with saffron rice and YUM! Thanks for the recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Scaled this recipe to yield 2 servings. Used the exact required ingredients except I cut on coconut milk...used 2 oz or 1/4 cup instead of the required 4 oz or 1/2 cup. As to the directions, I only cooked my tofu for 5 mins. Also, I added the peas in the last 15 mins of the "simmering period". Served it with warm jasmine rice (I forgot to serve it with yogurt though I already had it on hand). Love, love the spicy/hotness of this dish! Too bad my hubby wouldn't share this vegan recipe with me...good for ME though, got to eat it ALL! haha! NEXT TIME I'll try other reviewers' suggestion of adding diced tomatoes, changing the cumin-curry powder-ground ginger-salt ratio, and adding cayenne pepper. Will also try to serve this with Naan bread. The Naan bread recipe I looked up here required 4 hrs cooking/prep time...I couldn't wait that long! But will prepare ahead of time next time ;-D Thanks for the recipe & reviews! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
this is the only way my family will eat tofu. try using ghee instead of olive oil for more authenticity. definately use more curry powder; i ended using almost 2 tbsp. i cut down the tomato sauce from 6 cups to a 6 oz. can, and that was all it needed, really. serve over basmati with some homemade naan, and you'll think you're in an indian restaurant; it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
A vegetarian guest very well acquainted with Indian food gave this an 8 or 9 out of 10 (10 being the best Indian food he's ever had). That said, here are my modifications: 2 Tblspn cumin, 2 tsp curry, 2 tsp ginger, 2 tsp salt, 1/4 red cayenne pepper, one large can diced petite tomatoes, two heaping spoons of tomato sauce; served with brown rice on the side. I've never had so many compliments...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I just made this for dinner. It was fantastic! I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used a can of diced tomatoes and a half can of tomato paste instead of 6 cups tomato sauce. I also used 1.5x the spices...made the bridge of my nose sweat! I will definitely make this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was FANTASTIC. I brought this to a dinner party and gave out the recipe to every single guest! I did take the suggestion to cut the tomato sauce in half. I also added fresh green beans and a little brown sugar and a bit more curry powder. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I LOVE this recipe! I only used one 15 oz can of tomato sauce, skipped the cumin (only because I don't care for it) and replaced the paste with red pepper flakes for heat. This is a fun recipe because it's easy to adjust to personal taste. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good, but the red curry paste was too overpowering for my family. We like it spicy but not too hot. I'd cut it in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I thought this was easy and very tasty. I made the recipe exactly as is and thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States