Coconut Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Taste on our pancakes was pretty good. I wasn't so sure when it was made. And the color was not what I wanted. I wanted a milky look and texture. I would use less sugar and probably go with white sugar as the coconut was also sweetened. All-in-all thought, when it was mixed with our unsweetened fruit sauce, it made for an "island" tropical taste on the pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I HATE using my blender, so I left the coconut flakes out. Still very coconuty, with a smooth syrup-like texture. I used lite coconut milk (not coconut cream). Served on top of French Toast soaked in an egg/milk/coconut rum/unsweetened coconut flake mixture, and topped with toasted sweetened shredded coconut. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made it as directed but decided to throw in white chocolate chips as well. I used it for coconut waffles. My family LOVED IT! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this several years ago to go with banana pancakes for my mom's birthday. Even though I didn't blend it (didn't want to wake up the 3rd shift worker sleeping upstairs), it came out great. I didn't have anything to compare it to, but Mom had tried it in Hawaii and approved this version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This was great!! I had coconut syrup from Hawaii when I was a kid and I never stopped thinking about it. I found this and decided to make it. One thing I must say is use C&H Brown Sugar, no fake imitations! Also use the best coconut you can get your hands on, not the store brand stuff. Yum!! I want to use this for Rum drinks too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I was getting ready to make this when I realized that the ingredients list calls for "coconut milk" and the directions refer to "coconut cream" There's a big difference in the 2 so I'm not sure which to use. Anyone? I gave it 3 stars anticipating it will be as wonderful as the other reviews say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is so much better than the so called Coconut Syrup one gets in Hawaii ... You can actually taste the coconut !... I used an immersion "stick" blender before cooking the Coconut Milk, Coconut and Sugar, and the coconut is barely perceptible ... I changed the recipe by using plain White Sugar instead of Brown Sugar to keep the syrup white, as opposed to having the final product, tan ... A bit more appealing to me and mine ... Sooooooooooo GOOD ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe is soooo delicious! My husband and I love coconut so this was right up our alley. I did strain the coconut at the end and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A little sweet, but all I could find was sweetened coconut. With sweetened coconut, I'd use more coconut milk, and about 2/3rds the amount of sugar, which I'll try next time I make it. Other than that the reason this gets 4 stars is for the texture with the coconut pieces, which limits it's uses as a syrup a bit. Next time I'll put it through the blender and see what happens. I made this with buttery crepes, and the taste was pretty gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States