Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very much enjoyed this cake. A few people suggested to serve it at room temperature but I fought it tasted much better chilled right out of the fridge. The amond extract was a nice tough, I will try using coconut extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I've made this cake twice and let me tell you, it is AWESOME!!! This is so far the best tasting cake that I have ever made. Everyone that has tasted it LOVES it..I'm having company next weekend and I *will* be making THIS!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews, I decided to make this cake for Christmas dinner. I lightened it up by using reduced fat sour cream and light whipped topping. Other than that, I followed the directions as written. I did make a day ahead to let the filling do its magic. I decorated the top with fresh strawberry "fans"; it looked awesome and perfect for a Christmas cake! The taste, though, was the real winner! Everyone loved it! This cake is incredibly moist and full of flavor. This is a definite keeper, and I won't be waiting for next Christmas to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i make mine with butter recipe cake and frozen grated coconut. yummy!! yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This cake was one of the best I ever made! I would cut down on the almond extract to maybe half a tsp, but that is it. It gets better the longer it sits in the fridge! I brought it to work and everybody raved. Also, I cut down on the suger like was suggested and it was pefect. I only used 1 and 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I halved the sugar in this recipe because I thought it would be too sweet. Big mistake. There wasn't enough filling. Also, I would've added more cool whip and make that the filling for inside the cake. I thought it would've been a lot better if the coconut was toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie_Fishook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have been making this cake for over 25 years and it is always a hit. Never used almond flavoring in it. Many times I used chocolate cake mix instead yellow. The chocolate coconut combination is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought this cake was excellent. I did modify the recipe by decreasing the whipped topping to 8 oz and I increased the coconut by about a cup. I also used extra coconut to sprinkle on the outside of the cake. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I couldn't wait to make this cake, It sounded too simple to be as great as it was being described... I hate to be the ONE person that didn't think this cake was "ALL THAT". Not that it wasn't a good cake because it was, I tried a slice on the first day, had a slice on the second day and I had a slice on third and fourth days and I can't say it was any better. Good cake? yes. Easy to make? Yes. Special cake? No. If I wanted something coconutty- I wouldn't overlook this recipe- but I don't see it as being my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This cake was hugely popular at a function I attended. I thought the filling was a little thin(I added some powdered sugar). I'll use the recipe (altered) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States