Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very much enjoyed this cake. A few people suggested to serve it at room temperature but I fought it tasted much better chilled right out of the fridge. The amond extract was a nice tough, I will try using coconut extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I've made this cake twice and let me tell you, it is AWESOME!!! This is so far the best tasting cake that I have ever made. Everyone that has tasted it LOVES it..I'm having company next weekend and I *will* be making THIS!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berry63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
After reading the reviews, I decided to make this cake for Christmas dinner. I lightened it up by using reduced fat sour cream and light whipped topping. Other than that, I followed the directions as written. I did make a day ahead to let the filling do its magic. I decorated the top with fresh strawberry "fans"; it looked awesome and perfect for a Christmas cake! The taste, though, was the real winner! Everyone loved it! This cake is incredibly moist and full of flavor. This is a definite keeper, and I won't be waiting for next Christmas to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i make mine with butter recipe cake and frozen grated coconut. yummy!! yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This cake was one of the best I ever made! I would cut down on the almond extract to maybe half a tsp, but that is it. It gets better the longer it sits in the fridge! I brought it to work and everybody raved. Also, I cut down on the suger like was suggested and it was pefect. I only used 1 and 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I halved the sugar in this recipe because I thought it would be too sweet. Big mistake. There wasn't enough filling. Also, I would've added more cool whip and make that the filling for inside the cake. I thought it would've been a lot better if the coconut was toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie_Fishook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I have been making this cake for over 25 years and it is always a hit. Never used almond flavoring in it. Many times I used chocolate cake mix instead yellow. The chocolate coconut combination is out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I thought this cake was excellent. I did modify the recipe by decreasing the whipped topping to 8 oz and I increased the coconut by about a cup. I also used extra coconut to sprinkle on the outside of the cake. I will definitely be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I couldn't wait to make this cake, It sounded too simple to be as great as it was being described... I hate to be the ONE person that didn't think this cake was "ALL THAT". Not that it wasn't a good cake because it was, I tried a slice on the first day, had a slice on the second day and I had a slice on third and fourth days and I can't say it was any better. Good cake? yes. Easy to make? Yes. Special cake? No. If I wanted something coconutty- I wouldn't overlook this recipe- but I don't see it as being my go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This cake was hugely popular at a function I attended. I thought the filling was a little thin(I added some powdered sugar). I'll use the recipe (altered) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States