Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I first found this recipe in a magazine. The addition of too much sugar made it way too sweet and the sugar liquified the filling and frosting. I found that 1/4 to 1/2 Cup of sugar was adequate to sweeten it since the coconut and whipped topping are already sweet. It also set up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I was really excited to make this an anticipated a tasty cake. Unfortunately, I found it to be too sweet and maybe too coconutty even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
I made this for my husbands birthday and even those who don't like coconut raved about how good it was. This recipe is wonderful and easy. In addition I think it could easily be enhanced with other flavorings just for FUN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
My Mother made this cake for years she said the recipe came with the phone bill one year. We all loved it and she lost the recipe. I was so glad to find it and now we can make it again. It is a great cake for Christmas,Easter just anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Wow, Wow, Wow!! Excellent homemade taste and so easy to make. The sour cream filling keeps the cake super moist and an 8 oz. container of whipped topping is plenty. I've made this 4 times and never needed more. Instead of almond extract, I add 1.5 teaspoon of coconut extract. This gives the cake a light, coconut essence yet not overpowering. Definitely use White Cake mix. The yellow takes away from the coconut flavor. This cake is also fantastic with Cream Cheese frosting (from this website) with coconut flakes mixed in. Definitely add about 1/2 cup toasted coconut on top for color. I've never refridgerated this for more than 1 day and it tasted fine - definitely long enough for the flavors to meld. And this tastes best served at room temperature. Let the cake sit out for about 2-3 hrs for the cake and frosting to soften and moisten back up before serving or else it can taste stiff and dry coming out of the fridge. This cake is so good and taste so homemade it rivals the famous coconut cake at my local gourmet bakery. **UPDATE 12/22/06** Made this cake for a woman's lunch (my 6th cake) and had offers from three different women to buy this cake from me for the holidays. Yah, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
My husband was very upset after I finish decorating the cake and he couldn't have a slice. I told him we would have to wait at least 3 to 4 days and he lost his mind! I only used 1/2 of the cool whip. 16 oz is too much. It was well worth the wait. We all died and went to heaven. This cake was so good! I'll make it again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalexi2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I thought this cake was my grandma's special recipe:) It is and will always be my favorite, although I use yellow cake, half the cool whip and no extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Easy to make and sooo good. Huge hit at our birthday party...everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess of her Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Oh My Gosh! This cake is to die for! I used yellow cake mix and omitted the almond extract. By day four we were fighting over the last couple of slices. I cut my cake layers with thread and it was easy as pie. This was my first time cutting layers, way easier than I thought. We have paid to have this cake made for us, never again. I will be making it myself for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
A great recipe. The hardest part is waiting the time until you can eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States