Coconut Sour Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made and it's so easy. To make it even easier I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan and used half of the topping ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a huge hit at my son's birthday! His favorite is coconut. I added coconut and almond extracts to both the cake mix and the frosting for a "flavor explosion." Was easy to make, which is good because I've been asked to make it every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This has been a family favorite for many years. It's my Mom's favorite cake, so I usually make at least one a year for her birthday. I agree that there is quite a bit of icing left, but considering you usually have too little icing I'm not going to complain about that. You can always use the icing for other things, like I used mine to top a chocolate cream pie once and it added a whole new dimension! I would highly recommend this cake, however, if you can stay away from it long enough to let it sit for 3 days before cutting you will not be sorry. The cake gets better as it ages in the fridge! Perfect for making ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Good cake - but the recipe makes way too much frosting! I couldn't use it all, and will probably end up throwing the leftover frosting away. Next time I will use an 8 oz. container of whipped topping, instead of the 16 oz. container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RAPUNZEL
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I made this for my Mom's 68th birthday, it was a huge hit! The guests loved it, there was barely a piece left for the birthday girl to take home with her! I submitted a pic of it, only changes I made was in the shape (used square cake pans) and did not toast the coconut because I decorated with red roses and wanted them to "pop" in the snowy white coconut. I agree that there was too much whipped topping, have a lot of frosting leftover but I plan to make cupcakes today so that won't be a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPUNZEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Excellent! It is fairly sweet, so smaller pieces are nice. We toasted the coconut to sprinkle on top. I will make this for the holidays! Loved the tinted coconut and jelly bean egg idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
My hubbie is not a big cake fan - or coconut for that matter, but he (we)could not stop eating this one! It is awesome, and gets better everyday (ours only lasted 3, but the third day was the best). Unfortunately, I neglected to see the instructions to "fold" in the whip cream, and I mixed it with the blender. It came out extremely runny - all over my kitchen. But it tasted great! I also added a little Jamaican rum to my cake batter instead of coconut flavoring. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
I made this cake for my mother's 70th birthday party. We had a variety of homemade cakes displayed on cake stands. This cake was cleary the crowd favorite, and the only cake completely devoured. I had many request for the recipe. I covered the complete cake with the icing and coconut. It makes a great presentation as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Very good and very moist. I used 1 1/2 tsp of coconut extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
10 people in my office just told me that this is one of the best cakes I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States